Post Reply

[How To] Get Stock AT&T TW KitKat 4.4.2 NE4 for T-Mobile Galaxy S 3 T999

OP bobshute

23rd August 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #1  
bobshute's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 164
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
How I got AT&T TW KitKat 4.4.2 on my T-Mobile Galaxy S 3 T999

I was a TMO customer forever but a couple thing happened.
1. I moved to Maine and there is ZERO TMO data service here
2. I got tired of waiting for TMO to give me KitKat
To correct problem #1, Knowing that our T999 works just fine on AT&T, I decided to change networks. I refuse to become an actual AT&T customer so I went to Straight Talk for a SIM that uses AT&T as the network. I got the SIM and pay 45 bucks a month for unlimited Voice, unlimited Text and 5 GB of Data. I reset the APN and everything is working Marvelously.

To correct problem #2, Although I flashed a ROM a Day back in my Vibrant days, did a bunch of theming and made a few ports myself back then I haven't done poop since I got the S3 a when it came out a couple years ago. Time to change that.
With some direction from joe3681
http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...-port-t2838975
I decided to bite the bullet and now I'm runningAT&T TW KK NE4 4.4.2 on my T999 on AT&T via Straight Talk.

How to do (you know the routine):
1. You obviouly are rooted with a custom recovery (I use TWRP)
2. Backup, backup backup
3. Grap the ROM, KERNEL, MODEM (from links below) and put the on your SDCard or Ext SDCard
4. go into recovery and wipe, factory reset etc.
5. flash the ROM, then KERNEL, then MODEM
6. Fix permissions
7. reboot and let things settle out.
8. login to Google, restore all your apps and such. ( I let Google Play reinstall them vs Titanium) (don't restore app data please)
9. Viola, TW KK 4.4.2

ROM: I747UCUFNE4_AT&T 4.4.2 (I used Stock Odex)
BY: enewman17
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2788357

KERNAL: [KERNEL][AT&T][AOSP/TW][4.1/4.2/4.3/4.4][07/11/2014] KT747 - ND8 - KTweaker (TW KiktKat 4.4)
BY: ktoonsez
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1756776

MODEM: UVUENC2
[Baseband] ALL T999, T999L, T999V, T999N Modems! w/ MAP and Data Tweaks!
BY: DocHoliday77
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

Everything so far that I've tested is working just fine. You do get all the AT&T bloat (but no TMO bloat), but you can delete it later or from the ROM before you flash if you know how. Connected to HSPA+ so data is fine.

Here's the APN settings for Straight Talk AT&T I'm using:
Name: Straight Talk
APN: tfdata
Proxy: <Leave in Blank>
Port: 80
Username: <Leave in Blank>
Password: <Leave in Blank>
Server: <Leave in Blank>
MMSC: http://mms-tf.net
MMS proxy: mms3.tracfone.com
MMS port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication type: <Leave in Blank>
APN type: default,mms,supl,hipri
Last edited by bobshute; 23rd August 2014 at 04:40 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to bobshute For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd September 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
There are a few ports as well, using the same kernel, that works for TMO version. You don't actually have to switch to AT&T to get KK. as for the modem, that's a TMO modem if i'm not mistaken.

my problem with these ports have been that the kernel gives a bit worse battery life (or maybe it's the ported ROM and/or KK), GPS get wonky sometime and wont start even when i open up maps or GPS Test, and camera HDR mode takes 5-10 seconds between shots instead of the usual 2.
The Following User Says Thank You to atb1183 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S III General by ThreadRank