FORUMS

[Q] Samsung galaxy SIII hard bricked will not boot but ODIN can recognize it

50 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By saeedco, Member on 30th November 2012, 06:16 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Samsung galaxy SIII hard bricked will not boot no power, but ODIN 1.85 can recognize it, (not the new Odins), when I try to re-flash it with Odin I get stuck at setupConnection..
any help? can I use the small USB mod
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SIII.jpg
Views:	306
Size:	168.0 KB
ID:	1524807  
Last edited by saeedco; 30th November 2012 at 07:19 PM.
 
 
1st December 2012, 10:34 AM |#2  
chrisram88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag san dimas (Los Angeles)
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
If you don't mind me asking, how you brick your phone?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
2nd December 2012, 05:35 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i have the same problem i used the Odin3 v1.85 and installed CF-Root-SGS3-v6.4 zip but it failed. so then i tried to reboot it and said firmware update encountered an issue and something else. then i looked up how to unbrick and the post said to downloaded the zip CF-Insecure-SGS3_XX_NEE_ALE8-v1.2 and used Odin to install now i got nothing but a black screen buy it will go into download mode and Odin read it
2nd December 2012, 06:24 AM |#4  
crusecontrl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
You're not hard bricked if Odin can read your phone. Reboot your computer then reconnect and flash a stock rom to be safe.
2nd December 2012, 03:03 PM |#5  
zoth's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag TEXAS
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby1_8888

i have the same problem i used the Odin3 v1.85 and installed CF-Root-SGS3-v6.4 zip but it failed. so then i tried to reboot it and said firmware update encountered an issue and something else. then i looked up how to unbrick and the post said to downloaded the zip CF-Insecure-SGS3_XX_NEE_ALE8-v1.2 and used Odin to install now i got nothing but a black screen buy it will go into download mode and Odin read it

If I'm not wrong ODIN uses TAR files and not ZIP files. Try unziping and see if there is a TAR file if there is then thats what you have to use in ODIN.
8th July 2014, 05:18 PM |#6  
Same as OP's phone
Sprint s3 flash pacman JB and google apps the went to reboot recovery ask to reflash su yes phone powered off and no coming back on Odin does detect it on com05 when I plug it in but anything I try to do just says waiting on connection, will not go into recovery or download modes. is there anything I can do to fix it? kies or anything? and I edited the updater scripts to be able to flash pacman because every rom I tried would fail with error 7............ please help
8th July 2014, 05:44 PM |#7  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 1,040
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevinreid1

Sprint s3 flash pacman JB and google apps the went to reboot recovery ask to reflash su yes phone powered off and no coming back on Odin does detect it on com05 when I plug it in but anything I try to do just says waiting on connection, will not go into recovery or download modes. is there anything I can do to fix it? kies or anything? and I edited the updater scripts to be able to flash pacman because every rom I tried would fail with error 7............ please help

Do you get a message when you plug it into your computer? Does the red LED turn on? Editing the scripts is dangerous if you don't know what you are doing!
8th July 2014, 06:54 PM |#8  
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

Do you get a message when you plug it into your computer? Does the red LED turn on? Editing the scripts is dangerous if you don't know what you are doing!

followed the guides about it just removed from top to quotes dealing with checking versions of device.
8th July 2014, 07:14 PM |#9  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 1,040
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevinreid1

followed the guides about it just removed from top to quotes dealing with checking versions of device.

I'm not saying that was the problem or that you did it wrong, but maybe the ROM was forced to flash and was truly not compatible or was corrupt, bricks are highly likely to occur in this case
8th July 2014, 08:26 PM |#10  
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22

I'm not saying that was the problem or that you did it wrong, but maybe the ROM was forced to flash and was truly not compatible or was corrupt, bricks are highly likely to occur in this case

The roms I have downloaded are supposed to be for Sprint s3 I was running stock JB 4.3 if that makes any difference, any help on what to do know, thinking of trying the unbrick mmc card trick .... idk what else to do... thanks : ) and something went wrong somewhere for sure... lol I also found out my exact model number if that helps. SPH-L710MBBSPR again thanks for you responses..
9th July 2014, 08:28 AM |#11  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,586
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok, a few things I noticed....

1. You are using a very old version of Odin. I recommend only using 3.07 or 3.09.

2. The COM port box is yellow, which probably was trying to caution you about something.

3. You have a Sprint model S3. This is the T-Mobile S3 forum.

4. You have a Sprint S3, but were trying to flash old T999 firmware! This simply will not work, and if it were to flash, insta-brick!

What you need to do is start using the Sprint forums. Only flash items you find in those forums, and nothing else. While some of our roms might flash and boot on yours, they will never function very well. This is one of the things the asserts in an updater script are intended to protect against.

Finally, just a bit of posting advice. Please use proper punctuation. Small mistakes are ok, but posting with no punctuation at all just makes it difficult for people to read, and many will just close the thread and move to the next without bothering to help.

---------- Post added at 02:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 AM ----------

Oops! Just realized the pic in the op wasn't yours! But still, theyre all good points you should check before flashing. Also make sure kies is uninstalled or disabled on your computer.
But most importantly, you need to be in the Sprint forums. We can help a bit here, but you need to ONLY use stuff from your devices forum. And a lot of it we simply may not be familiar with.
Good luck!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes