Post Reply

Post [Q] Should I upgrade my modem?

OP torpy

4th July 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Hi All,

I just recently returned to my trusty T999 Galaxy S3 and was wondering what modem I should update to? I just flashed CM11 and everything appears to be working properly except it says 3G in the status bar and not H+ (even though I'm in an HSPA/LTE area).

Currently I am on modem T999UVDLJA, which I believe is a 4.1.1 modem. Should I update to a 4.3 modem?(if so which one?) or stick with the 4.1.1 modem? I've read that once you update to a 4.3 modem you can't go back to 4.1 modems? Is that true?

All recommendations are welcome.

Thanks!
4th July 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,397
 
9,103 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Once on 4.3 firmware you cannot use older modems. If on pre 4.3 firmware you can try the 4.3 one and go back if needed.

First, though, start a large download using mobile data. Go to settings, about device, status, network type. This will tell you your true connection type.
If hspa is not working, its much more likely to be a tower issue than a problem with the modem. Still, it doesnt hurt to try the other modems though!
4th July 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #3  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 765
 
2,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
LJA is very old, you need to update it so you can get H+ try the latest modem
4th July 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Once on 4.3 firmware you cannot use older modems. If on pre 4.3 firmware you can try the 4.3 one and go back if needed.

First, though, start a large download using mobile data. Go to settings, about device, status, network type. This will tell you your true connection type.
If hspa is not working, its much more likely to be a tower issue than a problem with the modem. Still, it doesnt hurt to try the other modems though!

Hi Doc,
You are correct, once i start doing a "large download" the data changes to H+ up top, so HSPA is working. Now with regards to pre 4.3 modems not working, I am running CM11 which is 4.4.4 and am running the old UVDLJA modem. In theory is this not supposed to work?
4th July 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
What modems are everyone using right now with the 4.4 ROMS?
4th July 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,397
 
9,103 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Doesn't matter what rom you are on. Its the base firmware. If you have updated to 4.3 firmware, you must use the same or newer modem as the firmware build.
If running non touchwiz kk, as I understand it you can do so on older firmware. To run a touchwiz kk rom though, you must be on 4.3 firmware and thus a 4.3 modem.

You are using a non touchwiz rom, so as long as you are not updated to the 4.3 firmware, you can run the LJA modem without issue. Once you update to 4.3, you will have to use the 4.3 modem.
4th July 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Doesn't matter what rom you are on. Its the base firmware. If you have updated to 4.3 firmware, you must use the same or newer modem as the firmware build.
If running non touchwiz kk, as I understand it you can do so on older firmware. To run a touchwiz kk rom though, you must be on 4.3 firmware and thus a 4.3 modem.

You are using a non touchwiz rom, so as long as you are not updated to the 4.3 firmware, you can run the LJA modem without issue. Once you update to 4.3, you will have to use the 4.3 modem.

Ok, thanks for the clarification. How do I find out what my base firmware is then?
5th July 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #8  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 765
 
2,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by torpy

Hi Doc,
You are correct, once i start doing a "large download" the data changes to H+ up top, so HSPA is working. Now with regards to pre 4.3 modems not working, I am running CM11 which is 4.4.4 and am running the old UVDLJA modem. In theory is this not supposed to work?

I remember there were certain modem versions that wouldn't work with hspa, must have been ICS then..
Quote:
Originally Posted by torpy

Ok, thanks for the clarification. How do I find out what my base firmware is then?

Use phone info from the play store under firmware it will give you all the info

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
5th July 2014, 01:23 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Is it safe to update to a 4.3 modem? Will it "brick" my phone and/or lock it with KNOX?

Which 4.3 modem should i update to?
5th July 2014, 01:29 AM   |  #10  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 765
 
2,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by torpy

Is it safe to update to a 4.3 modem? Will it "brick" my phone and/or lock it with KNOX?

Which 4.3 modem should i update to?

If you want to update to a 4.3 modem just flash the latest, and it won't brick or give you Knox

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank