Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,752 Members 39,659 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S3 keeps rebooting into recovery

Tip us?
 
DemonicCow9852
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Prompt S3 keeps rebooting into recovery

So this is just a quick question. I've never had a phone reboot into recovery mode before, I've just had them either straight up hardbricked, stuck on logos, not booting, or only booting into Download Mode. From going through other threads (I used the search bar before asking this question. *shock&awe*), I'm gonna assume this is also considered a soft brick.

I'm not sure what was done to the phone because I upgraded to an S5 and passed this S3 down to my little brother who tried to flash another ROM. It was working fine on one of the stable versions of SlimKit before I got the S5 if that matters.

So my questions:
  1. Is this considered a soft brick?
  2. Would flashing stock everything resolve this issue? (reverting back to Stock everything, then reflashing custom ROMs)
  3. Is there a simpler way to resolve this issue to avoid going back completely to stock?

Thanks for looking everyone.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,060
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes, anytime you can get to download mode or recovery its considered a soft brick. A hard brick will not boot anything at all.
Flashing stock firmware will be the best option imo. But you could just try flashing a rom. You will likely have to factory reset in either case.
If i had to guess, he probably formatted /system and then the rom failed to flash, leaving it with no OS.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
 
DemonicCow9852
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
I haven't tried to do anything with it until he gets home, but best bet would be the following? Let me know if something's off or if I should do something another way:
  1. Download stock firmware on the SD card
  2. Factory reset
  3. Flash stock firmware
  4. Flash custom ROM
  5. Reboot

At any point would the phone get unrooted? I'm gonna just make sure everything's set to go when the little bro gets home.
 
serio22
Old
(Last edited by serio22; 25th August 2014 at 09:29 PM.)
#4  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 706
Posts: 2,199
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
You cannot flash stock firmware from SD. Here is what you should do:

1) download stock firmware to your computer
2) factory reset, wipe cache and dalvik
3) flash stock firmware with Odin and make sure the device boots and works fine
4) flash custom recovery
5) flash custom ROM
6) reboot

Edit: also make sure you flash the correct firmware. For example if the device was ever updated to 4.3 then only flash that 4.3 build, any other that is lower will fail. And yes you will lose root when you flash back to stock but it doesn't mean much at all. You can gain root easily
The Following User Says Thank You to serio22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DemonicCow9852
Old
(Last edited by DemonicCow9852; 26th August 2014 at 01:23 AM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
I keep getting this issue in ODIN when I attempt to flash a stock firmware. Any ideas?

Code:
<ID:0/004> Added!!
<OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
<OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> root66_TMO_T999UVUENC2.tar.md5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
<ID:0/004> File analysis..
<ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/004> Initialzation..
<ID:0/004> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/004> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/004> sbl2.mbn
<ID:0/004> NAND Write Start!! 
<ID:0/004> FAIL! (Auth)
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
<ID:0/004> Removed!!
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,060
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Ate you sure you have a T999, not a T999L.
Also, if kies is on your computer, uninstall it.
 
DemonicCow9852
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
It's a S3 from T-Mobile directly, so I think it's a T999. I have Kies 3 for my S5 installed, so I'll go ahead and uninstall to try again. Will report back.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#8  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,060
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Check the sticker under the battery. T-Mobile doesnt sell the T999 anymore, only the T999L. Depends on how long ago you got it.
 
DemonicCow9852
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
Check the sticker under the battery. T-Mobile doesnt sell the T999 anymore, only the T999L. Depends on how long ago you got it.
I love you. Be back after getting the right firmware.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#10  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,060
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Just fyi in case you didnt know, there is an ota available for the T999L.
After flashing your firmware, go to settings , about device, and tap software update. It should update you to the latest build. (Still just 4.3, but i imagine its a bugfix/security update).

If you are up for putting in a little extra time, i can help you pull the ota (after downloading but before flashing it). If i can get a hold of this ota i can make an easier update method available for other members since no firmware has been released for it.

If you dont want to thats perfectly fine btw. Im sure someone else would get it soon.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more