Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,547 Members 45,539 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SGH-T999 Stuck at Samsung Screen - Soft brick?

Tip us?
 
eight_heads
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default SGH-T999 Stuck at Samsung Screen - Soft brick?

We just moved from T-mobile to Verizon today and I was trying to factory reset my wife's SGH-T999. I went to factory reset through the settings menu and everything went as normal until it tried to reboot. At this time is went into recovery and is giving me the following errors:

E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
can't mount '/data'(Invalid argument)
E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
E:can't mount /data/log/recovery_log.txt

I was trying to reset the phone to give to a friend, and I doubt T-mobile will help at all being we just left them. So far I've tried using kies and also re-installing the 4.3 firmware via both sdcard and odin. The install/update completes, but the phone still will not load. Thanks for any help.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5205
Posts: 7,480
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
You may need to repartition during the odin flash. Flash as usual, but check repartition. Then click the PIT button and select the PIT file for your device.

PIT files can be found in a thread in the General section.
 
eight_heads
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
You may need to repartition during the odin flash. Flash as usual, but check repartition. Then click the PIT button and select the PIT file for your device.

PIT files can be found in a thread in the General section.
I just tried that out, odin gave it a pass, but it still stops at the Samsung screen...
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5205
Posts: 7,480
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Try factory resetting again now that youve done the repartition. If that doesn't help, try flashing cwm/twrp and then from there flash a stock rom.
 
eight_heads
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
Try factory resetting again now that youve done the repartition. If that doesn't help, try flashing cwm/twrp and then from there flash a stock rom.
Booting into recovery and running factory reset worked, thanks!
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5205
Posts: 7,480
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Awesome! Glad that helped!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...