FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[GUIDE}★Downgrade 4.3 to 4.1.2★Unlock bootloader★Root

223 posts
Thanks Meter: 53
 
By berezker, Senior Member on 25th June 2015, 01:35 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
It has been believed that it is impossible to downgrade 4.3 to 4.1 because of knox or something which i don't know about
But this tutorial will help you downgrade without sending your phone to some website which will run you about 50$
Anyways lets start

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE TO YOUR BELOVED PHONE SO DON'T BLAME ME

ALL LINKS ARE BELOW


★Pre-Requisites★

1. A verizon Galaxy S3 (duh )
2. Odin (any version)
3. 4.1.2 update MB1
4. 4.3 update ML1 ( I guess other 4.3 builds work. Please test and report)
6. Cygwin
5. A functioning brain

★Downgrading★

1. Download both 4.1.2 and 4.3 updates (MB1 and ML1 respectively)
2. Create a folder called ModedRom
3. Open the 4.3 update using Winzip
4. Extract a file called "NON-HLOS" and place it in the folder you just created
5. Open the 4.1.2 update using Winzip
6. Extract all files except "NON-HLOS" and "aboot.mbn" and place them in the folder you've created earlier
7. Download and install Cygwin
8. Go to Computer > C: > Cygwin folder > home > and create a folder and name it like your profile (When you log into windows)
9. Place all the files in the "ModedRom" folder there
10. Open cygwin.bat (In cygwin folder in C: drive)
11. Type in the following commands and wait for the "$" sign after each command

Quote:

First:
tar -H ustar -c boot.img cache.img.ext4 NON-HLOS.bin recovery.img rpm.mbn sbl2.mbn sbl3.mbn system.img.ext4 tz.mbn > S3ModedRom.tar

Second:
md5sum -t S3ModedRom.tar >> S3ModedRom.tar

Third:
mv S3ModedRom.tar S3ModedRom.tar.md5

12. Now there Should be a MD5 file created in the folder where you placed all the files in
13. Connect your device and flash the MD5 file created using Odin

★You have just downgraded to 4.1.2★

★Unlocking Bootloader , Root and Recovery★

1. Download Casual flashing program
2. Enable USB debugging
3. Root Your phone with the root option
4. Flash the insecure bootloader (This unlocks the bootloader)
5. Flash custom recovery of your choice

★Links★

4.1.2 MB1 update https://goo.gl/ZCrteg

4.3 ML1 update https://goo.gl/5WyL5O

Odin http://goo.gl/mkYG3P

Cygwin http://goo.gl/Kr5fEg

Casual program for Unlocking bootloader and Rooting and Recovery http://goo.gl/MYaxb2

★Credits★

Adam Outler
Djrbliss
Chainfire
TeamWin
Koush
BeansTown106
therealdavinci (Youtube Channel)

If I missed anyone just let me know
Last edited by berezker; 26th June 2015 at 02:26 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to berezker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
25th June 2015, 07:37 PM |#2  
je2854's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 250
 
More
can this be used to unlock already locked bootloaders?
I have NE1 and would be interested in this as would everybody else...
The Following User Says Thank You to je2854 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2015, 10:22 PM |#3  
-somebody-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Upstate, NY
Thanks Meter: 659
 
Donate to Me
More
i do miss using my s3, itd be nice to get it unlocked (on NE1 as well). guess theres still a tiny shred of hope if 4.3 is finally able to get unlocked, nice to see someones still fighting the good fight.
26th June 2015, 01:26 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
has anyone tryed this yet? I'm on 4.3 NC1
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nikkifm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2015, 02:22 AM |#5  
berezker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by je2854

can this be used to unlock already locked bootloaders?
I have NE1 and would be interested in this as would everybody else...

Yes it can be used on an already locked device
When I flashed official ML1 (Coming from CM11) the post that had the links said in big read words that flashing official 4.3 will lock bootloader FOREVER but i didn't give up and came up with this
The Following User Says Thank You to berezker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2015, 02:23 AM |#6  
berezker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkifm

has anyone tryed this yet? I'm on 4.3 NC1

I've tried this myself and it worked perfectly
But I don't know about MC1 as i had ML1
But It should work since NC1 is just an incremental update
The Following User Says Thank You to berezker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2015, 02:24 AM |#7  
berezker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jeddah
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -somebody-

i do miss using my s3, itd be nice to get it unlocked (on NE1 as well). guess theres still a tiny shred of hope if 4.3 is finally able to get unlocked, nice to see someones still fighting the good fight.

I heard that you can downgrade from 4.4 to 4.3
If this is true then you can follow my tutorial to get back to 4.1 with all the goodies
The Following User Says Thank You to berezker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2015, 03:18 AM |#8  
-somebody-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Upstate, NY
Thanks Meter: 659
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berezker

I heard that you can downgrade from 4.4 to 4.3
If this is true then you can follow my tutorial to get back to 4.1 with all the goodies

ive been away from here for some time, i wasnt aware of that. ill look into that, thanks
26th June 2015, 03:52 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berezker

I've tried this myself and it worked perfectly
But I don't know about MC1 as i had ML1
But It should work since NC1 is just an incremental update

I'll have to try this sometime soon this weekend would love to have a unlocked s3 again old s3 died a year ago thankfully Verizon replaced it but hope it works thanks for the post
26th June 2015, 05:25 AM |#10  
je2854's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 250
 
More
downloading tonight and will try this at work tomorrow..
IF this successfully works from a NE1 standpoint I will
NOT hesitate to buy a week's worth of beer or lunch!
26th June 2015, 05:27 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
I am pretty sure a qfuse was tripped, which leaves you stuck on NE1. Some pieces can be changed, but by large, it will be NE1

EDIT: I was right, no going back from NE1
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639337

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes