Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,457 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 4.4 or 4.4.4 Rom

Tip us?
 
jcbjoe
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 178
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default [Q] 4.4 or 4.4.4 Rom

Hey All

Since I'm on a locked boot loader NC1 or ML1 shouldn't matter .. can i install a 4.4.4 or 4.4 rom ? i know i would have to do it thru safestrap but would it be possible ? i thought i could only flash 4.3 touchwiz nothing higher ?

Any help would be nice

Thanks
 
landshark68
Old
#2  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 548
Posts: 1,008
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbjoe View Post
Hey All

Since I'm on a locked boot loader NC1 or ML1 shouldn't matter .. can i install a 4.4.4 or 4.4 rom ? i know i would have to do it thru safestrap but would it be possible ? i thought i could only flash 4.3 touchwiz nothing higher ?

Any help would be nice

Thanks
No, you cannot flash a 4.4.4 or 4.4 ROM. If you are on 4.3 NC1 or ML1, you are restricted to running only 4.3 touchwiz based ROMs through safestrap. Ever since the 4.3 ML1 update, different components of the phone (kernel, bootloader, etc.) are signed with a key which must match in order for the phone to boot up. That is why you are restricted to 4.3 touchwiz ROMs in safestrap. They have to be able to run off the 4.3 stock kernel. A 4.4 touchwiz ROM will not have the same key signature verification as a 4.3 touchwiz ROM. And you are definitely not capable of running any kind of AOSP ROM now that your bootloader is locked.
Shouldn't we treat this world like the garden of Eden and avoid the apple at all costs?

Sometimes you go to the circus.......sometimes the circus comes to you
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to landshark68 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jcbjoe
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 178
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark68 View Post
No, you cannot flash a 4.4.4 or 4.4 ROM. If you are on 4.3 NC1 or ML1, you are restricted to running only 4.3 touchwiz based ROMs through safestrap. Ever since the 4.3 ML1 update, different components of the phone (kernel, bootloader, etc.) are signed with a key which must match in order for the phone to boot up. That is why you are restricted to 4.3 touchwiz ROMs in safestrap. They have to be able to run off the 4.3 stock kernel. A 4.4 touchwiz ROM will not have the same key signature verification as a 4.3 touchwiz ROM. And you are definitely not capable of running any kind of AOSP ROM now that your bootloader is locked.
Thanks for that reply I needed it.. Next question is why are there services out there that can downgrade the NC1 OR ML1 baseband? They could be scams but I'm just wondering.. Is it just the fact that a device or hacker hasn't found the correct exploit?

Thanks
 
DigitalMD
Old
#4  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 2,819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbjoe View Post
Thanks for that reply I needed it.. Next question is why are there services out there that can downgrade the NC1 OR ML1 baseband? They could be scams but I'm just wondering.. Is it just the fact that a device or hacker hasn't found the correct exploit?

Thanks
You are limited to TW based ROMs, they must be the same version of android. You can ODIN to stock 4.3 and take the 4.4 OTA or KIES
Days of open internet are almost over as the biggies look for more revenue streaming from your wallet..Soon the internet will be a shell of its current self. With the government wanting their taxes and the big ISPs planning to charge extra for access to specific content (like facebook) and throttle your speed.
 
jcbjoe
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 178
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMD View Post
You are limited to TW based ROMs, they must be the same version of android. You can ODIN to stock 4.3 and take the 4.4 OTA or KIES
Thanks for the reply I know I can go back to ML1 then safestrap 4.3 custom rooms.. What is the kies thing.. Will this mess up safestrap?
 
DigitalMD
Old
#6  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 2,819
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbjoe View Post
Thanks for the reply I know I can go back to ML1 then safestrap 4.3 custom rooms.. What is the kies thing.. Will this mess up safestrap?
Kies is Samsungs desktop application for doing OTA updates.Its does the same thing as an OTA or ODIN.
If you want to use safestrap stay on 4.3 until the developers have it all worked out for 4.4 .
Days of open internet are almost over as the biggies look for more revenue streaming from your wallet..Soon the internet will be a shell of its current self. With the government wanting their taxes and the big ISPs planning to charge extra for access to specific content (like facebook) and throttle your speed.
The Following User Says Thank You to DigitalMD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jcbjoe
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 178
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMD View Post
Kies is Samsungs desktop application for doing OTA updates.Its does the same thing as an OTA or ODIN.
If you want to use safestrap stay on 4.3 until the developers have it all worked out for 4.4 .
Thanks
 
BadUsername
Old
#8  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 744
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbjoe View Post
Thanks for that reply I needed it.. Next question is why are there services out there that can downgrade the NC1 OR ML1 baseband? They could be scams but I'm just wondering.. Is it just the fact that a device or hacker hasn't found the correct exploit?

Thanks
There is a service that people claim to be able to downgrade the bootloader to 4.1 from 4.3 so you can unlock your bootloader.

I think mobile tech videos does it, and if they offer it then it wouldn't be a scam. Just not sure how much it would cost, or if it'd be worth it to you.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes