Google Play Music Customizations – XDA Xposed Tuesday

If Cyanogen Inc. has its way, you won’t be forced into the Google … more

Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Google Play Store Error - After ODIN and OTA

3rd September 2014, 05:10 PM |#1  
MightyDollar's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I had problems with my GS3 and decided to ODIN back to stock. I then took all the OTA updates. Now, I have the Google Play Store no connection error. I have rooted the phone with towelroot and would very much like to use the Google Play Store. I used total commander to manipulate the etc/hosts file, but that did not work either. I have also factory reset many times.

Any other ideas?

Thanks!
 
 
3rd September 2014, 07:08 PM |#2  
JudgeFutta's Avatar
Member
Flag Battle Creek
Thanks Meter: 7
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyDollar

I had problems with my GS3 and decided to ODIN back to stock. I then took all the OTA updates. Now, I have the Google Play Store no connection error. I have rooted the phone with towelroot and would very much like to use the Google Play Store. I used total commander to manipulate the etc/hosts file, but that did not work either. I have also factory reset many times.

Any other ideas?

Thanks!

Have you tried to delete the host file and then log in without rebooting?
The Following User Says Thank You to JudgeFutta For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2014, 07:21 PM |#3  
MightyDollar's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JudgeFutta

Have you tried to delete the host file and then log in without rebooting?

Yes, it did not work. The problem persists.
9th September 2014, 04:34 AM |#4  
MightyDollar's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Anyone else have any ideas?
9th September 2014, 04:40 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Dallas Texas
Thanks Meter: 4
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Donate to Me
More
All I know is to delete "hosts" from "etc" folder. I can look in to it a little more. Until then, try deleting host again.

Sent from my Moto G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th September 2014, 04:10 AM |#6  
poppers162's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyDollar

Anyone else have any ideas?

Edit the hosts file, there should be two lines of text and numbers. Put a "#" in the very front of the second line of text.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes