Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,472 Members 50,019 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to Access Phone Info to Change Network Mode?

Tip us?
 
ghamdan103
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sana'a
Default [Q] How to Access Phone Info to Change Network Mode?

Please help how to access phone info to change network mode?

I'm trying to change network mode from CDMA auto PRL to CDMA only. I used to change it through phone info app but after upgrading to I535VRUCML1, it is not working anymore. I have seen in the Google play a note from the developer "sc@taiwan" that the app is not working with Samsung 4.3.
I have also enabled the hidden menu but the code *#*#4636#*# is not working.
My device is already Rooted.
The reason why I want to change from CDMA Auto PRL to CDMA only is that in some areas in my country (in Yemen) the battery will drop very quickly if I'm not on CDMA only.
 
BadUsername
Old
#2  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 744
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghamdan103 View Post
Please help how to access phone info to change network mode?

I'm trying to change network mode from CDMA auto PRL to CDMA only. I used to change it through phone info app but after upgrading to I535VRUCML1, it is not working anymore. I have seen in the Google play a note from the developer "sc@taiwan" that the app is not working with Samsung 4.3.
I have also enabled the hidden menu but the code *#*#4636#*# is not working.
My device is already Rooted.
The reason why I want to change from CDMA Auto PRL to CDMA only is that in some areas in my country (in Yemen) the battery will drop very quickly if I'm not on CDMA only.
Navigate to system/efs/carrier and text edit the hidden menu.

It'll say off, delete it and write on in all caps. Reboot your phone and you'll be able to access the hidden menu.

This should work, but the file might not be in that location. if it doesn't work let me know.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ghamdan103
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sana'a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername View Post
Navigate to system/efs/carrier and text edit the hidden menu.

It'll say off, delete it and write on in all caps. Reboot your phone and you'll be able to access the hidden menu.

This should work, but the file might not be in that location. if it doesn't work let me know.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
I have already donethat beside adding on line "sys.hiddenmenu.enable=1" to /system/build.prop . I can access some hidden menu like enabling DM mode ##366633#, *#06#, *#1234# and some other codes but not *#*#4636#*#*.
 
ghamdan103
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sana'a
Finally I managed to change the network mode through DFS but it would be a lot easier with phone info

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to ghamdan103 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
buhohitr
Old
#5  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,521
Posts: 5,185
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghamdan103 View Post
Finally I managed to change the network mode through DFS but it would be a lot easier with phone info

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app
You should provide step by step details here in order to help others...
The Following User Says Thank You to buhohitr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ghamdan103
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sana'a
Default How to Change Network Preferred Mode Through DFS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr View Post
You should provide step by step details here in order to help others...
If you are running 4.3 ROM I535VRUCML1
  • Enable hidden menu by Navigating to system/efs/carrier and edit the hidden menu file by writing ON instead of OFF. also add this line "sys.hiddenmenu.enable=1" to /system/build.prop and then reboot.
  • Enable DM mode by dialing ##366633# and choose enable DM
  • Now from the DFS navigate programming then NAM and in preferred setting scroll Pref Mode to choose which mode you want for example I wanted to change to CDMA Only so I chose CDMA_IS2000.
Note; If you can not connect through DFS the send 000000 SPC through CDMA workshop and then you can use DFS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DFS.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	192.4 KB
ID:	2572158  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ghamdan103 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mosfet356
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 53
Join Date: Jan 2012
My device is not rooted and I would like to use phone info app. Is there a work around? Also what is DM mode?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
ghamdan103
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sana'a
You can use easier way by using advanced Signal Status app but you have to be rooted.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes