Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help, I deleted my stock rom by accident

OP apcake

19th August 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
This is my first post and I'm not sure where to put it but I hope this is right.

I'm kinda new to flashing ROMs and was trying to flash one using safestrap on my GS3. I couldn't find one that worked and went back to my stock ROM. In the stock ROM cell service completely died and wouldn't work, to combat this problem I removed all ROMs, ROM slots, and wiped the stock ROM cache. Nothing. So then I restored to my nandroid backup I made yesterday and that deleted my OS. Now when I boot it just gets stuck at the second Samsung boot logo (there the first one that just says "Samsung" and "unlocked", then the second on says "Galaxy SIII" or something) now I have no OS and I'm not sure how to fix this, can I get some help please?

Okay, I got the stock firmware installed but I still have no service anywhere. Any ideas?
Last edited by apcake; 19th August 2014 at 11:03 PM.
20th August 2014, 02:03 AM   |  #2  
poppers162's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apcake

This is my first post and I'm not sure where to put it but I hope this is right.

I'm kinda new to flashing ROMs and was trying to flash one using safestrap on my GS3. I couldn't find one that worked and went back to my stock ROM. In the stock ROM cell service completely died and wouldn't work, to combat this problem I removed all ROMs, ROM slots, and wiped the stock ROM cache. Nothing. So then I restored to my nandroid backup I made yesterday and that deleted my OS. Now when I boot it just gets stuck at the second Samsung boot logo (there the first one that just says "Samsung" and "unlocked", then the second on says "Galaxy SIII" or something) now I have no OS and I'm not sure how to fix this, can I get some help please?

Okay, I got the stock firmware installed but I still have no service anywhere. Any ideas?

Uhhhmmmm would flashing the modems help? (directed towards the more knowledged users)

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Free mobile app
20th August 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #3  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 844
 
4,506 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppers162

Uhhhmmmm would flashing the modems help? (directed towards the more knowledged users)

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Free mobile app

It might. It depends on what modem they are currently on

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
20th August 2014, 02:46 AM   |  #4  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 806
 
1,594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apcake

This is my first post and I'm not sure where to put it but I hope this is right.

I'm kinda new to flashing ROMs and was trying to flash one using safestrap on my GS3. I couldn't find one that worked and went back to my stock ROM. In the stock ROM cell service completely died and wouldn't work, to combat this problem I removed all ROMs, ROM slots, and wiped the stock ROM cache. Nothing. So then I restored to my nandroid backup I made yesterday and that deleted my OS. Now when I boot it just gets stuck at the second Samsung boot logo (there the first one that just says "Samsung" and "unlocked", then the second on says "Galaxy SIII" or something) now I have no OS and I'm not sure how to fix this, can I get some help please?

Okay, I got the stock firmware installed but I still have no service anywhere. Any ideas?

First thing I would do is make sure your imei is still present in the about phone section. If it is, move on to the next step.

I would go completely back to stock, Odin flash either the stock 4.3 or 4.4 image depending on which you were on. If you're unsure, post what it says in download mode.

If you do that and you still have no service, then go to verizon and get a new sim card. Flashing a new modem wouldn't fix this situation.
20th August 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername

First thing I would do is make sure your imei is still present in the about phone section. If it is, move on to the next step.

I would go completely back to stock, Odin flash either the stock 4.3 or 4.4 image depending on which you were on. If you're unsure, post what it says in download mode.

If you do that and you still have no service, then go to verizon and get a new sim card. Flashing a new modem wouldn't fix this situation.

it appears as though the sim was wiped
20th August 2014, 06:06 AM   |  #6  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 806
 
1,594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apcake

it appears as though the sim was wiped

Grab a new sim card.
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes