Post Reply

[info] s3 sch-r530 u/c/m/x

23rd August 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #1  
syserr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Idaho
Thanks Meter: 300
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
[I'd like to create a thread to collect information for all variants of the R530. I'll update this first post with additional information people give during discussion. Sorry it is here in the Verizon sub, but this is the closest model]

The SCH-R530 is a special flavor of the Samsung Galaxy S3 with sub-favors: (you should probably puke now)

SCH-R530U is a US Cellular variant
SCH-R530C is a Cricket variant
SCH-R530M is a MetroPCS variant
SCH-R530X is a Generic variant

I suspect these are all the same hardware, but just different ROMs. I would like to confirm this.

I would like to know and post the newest firmware versions for each. (at least the names, if not the ROM files themselves) I'd like to know if ROMs are compatible, if modem firmwares are compatible, if bootloaders are compatible. The small community of owners need to pull together as much as possible.

Model -- Hardware Version / Firmware Versions / Baseband
SCH-R530U --
SCH-R530C --
SCH-R530M --
SCH-R530X -- R530X.01 / JSS15J.R530XWWUBMK4 / R530XWWUBMK4

Please post if you can add to this information!
23rd August 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #2  
syserr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Idaho
Thanks Meter: 300
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I'm working on my dad's SCH-R530X (Generic CDMA). It was on a regional CDMA provider that he was not happy with -- he paid $500 to them in January for the phone. Edit: Today, he's on PagePlus, but without data for some reason.

Concerns (that someone may be able to help me with):

Once you go to KK 4.4 you can not go back? Your bootloader is updated and will not boot 4.3?

I'm running 4.3, can I root -> replace recovery -> custom ROM ... without tripping the KNOX warranty void? I've read that saferoot will not trip KNOX?

This phone seems to have an odd Call Audio Quality problem. While listening during a phone call (on the R530), the other party's voice cuts out. Specifically, it cuts out when the other person isn't speaking in their mic close enough or loud enough. It's as if the R530 is filtering out anything under a certain volume level. I've turned off Call Equalizer and Noise Reduction to try to solve this problem. I believe I've read people say a firmware/ROM update from US Cellular fixed this problem.

So you can see, I have some constraints: Still in warranty and don't want to void it by tripping KNOX. Want to try a newer firmware for call audio problem. Don't want to brick phone with incompatible firmware, unless US Cellular will work on this X/Generic phone.

Help would be appreciated.
Last edited by syserr; 24th August 2014 at 07:53 PM.
25th August 2014, 11:07 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag SOCAL
Thanks Meter: 1
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I do have the USC and Cricket variants but the USC version is soft bricked.

HW: R530C.01
Firmware: JSS15J.R530CVVUCMK3
Baseband: R530CVVUCMK3

Also fyi, this and the USC version requires a sim card.
28th August 2014, 02:01 AM   |  #4  
syserr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Idaho
Thanks Meter: 300
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoyola

I do have the USC and Cricket variants but the USC version is soft bricked.

HW: R530C.01
Firmware: JSS15J.R530CVVUCMK3
Baseband: R530CVVUCMK3

Also fyi, this and the USC version requires a sim card.

Thanks... I'll add the info. I think I'll make a spot to record if it has a SIM slot too -- as my 530X does not have a SIM slot and was labeled with a little sticker "3G CDMA"... but the MEID starts with a "9" and LTE visible in DFS.
Last edited by syserr; 28th August 2014 at 04:07 AM.
15th September 2014, 05:53 AM   |  #5  
Lrs121's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lewiston, ID
Thanks Meter: 190
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by syserr

Thanks... I'll add the info. I think I'll make a spot to record if it has a SIM slot too -- as my 530X does not have a SIM slot and was labeled with a little sticker "3G CDMA"... but the MEID starts with a "9" and LTE visible in DFS.

I have a regional version of the s3 as well, d2xar (sch-r530x) on Inland Cellular, primarily based in the north west US. as far as i can tell, i havent dissasembled my phone to see if there is a lte radio, in the original build.prop for my phone it is disabled on boot so it will not consume power since it is not being used. thus the 3g cdma only sticker. for the us cellular version i do not know if there is a kitkat firmware but if there is there is always the possiblity you will not beable to go back. as for the generic version it is only on 4.3 right now. eitherway the higher the bootloader version is better for customroms due to recoveries and features working better. as for saferoot i dont remember if it trips the warranty bit or not since ive long since written a custom recover to the device which tripped it but i do know itll make the stock rom list itself as custom in the settings after being rooted. also something to keep in mind with a custom rom is, unless you have the apns for your carrier eg, pageplus, usc, ect. you will not have mms capabilities. Im still tearing my build.prop and apn back up apart to see if i can include some of that info into a custom rom to fix mms, or a recovery that will inject it after a rom flash.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank