Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,686 Members 37,238 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] root for 4.4.2

Tip us?
 
broazny
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default [Q] root for 4.4.2

hey rooters and devs is there a stable 4.4.2 root out right now for verzion without tripping knox?
i took the update to 4.4.2 and i cant even touch mu phone since it sucks makes random noises like a dot when clicking something.
Also, when will be able to start flashing custom roms or 4.4.2. i bricked my phone like 3 times since i didnt unlock the boot loader but now i can actually flash the roms.
TL,DR root for 4.4.2 without tripping know
when will we be able to flash cyanogenmod
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,923
Posts: 5,428
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by broazny View Post
hey rooters and devs is there a stable 4.4.2 root out right now for verzion without tripping knox?
i took the update to 4.4.2 and i cant even touch mu phone since it sucks makes random noises like a dot when clicking something.
Also, when will be able to start flashing custom roms or 4.4.2. i bricked my phone like 3 times since i didnt unlock the boot loader but now i can actually flash the roms.
TL,DR root for 4.4.2 without tripping know
when will we be able to flash cyanogenmod
The only root exploit for VRUDNE1 4.4.2 that works on our phone is "Towelroot" by Geohot which is in the S5 section.

Once rooted, these things apply to everyone on VRUDNE1 4.4.2 as well as anyone on 4.3 VRUCML1 or VRUCNC1 OTAs:

a) You can NOT install a custom recovery (No CWM, No TWRP, nothing)
b) You can NOT install any AOSP rom
c) You can NOT install a custom kernel
d) Only an unofficial version of Safestrap can be used on VRUDNE1. This is not a custom recovery, Safestrap is NOT a custom recovery.
e) As of 8:50 EST, there is no custom VRUDNE1 TouchWiz rom to install. Safestrap hijacks the bootprocess and only uses the stock kernel, in your case stock VRUDNE1 4.4.2 kernel, in order to boot other custom TouchWiz roms. Only VRUDNE1 roms would be able to successfully flash on your phone. But none exist yet.

Literally all that you can do as of this post is root, debloat, install Safestrap, and hope that you will be able to use custom VRUDNE1 based TouchWiz roms.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
broazny
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default back to 4.3

will i be able to odin back to 4.3 without tripping knox and locking the bootloader?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS View Post
The only root exploit for VRUDNE1 4.4.2 that works on our phone is "Towelroot" by Geohot which is in the S5 section.

Once rooted, these things apply to everyone on VRUDNE1 4.4.2 as well as anyone on 4.3 VRUCML1 or VRUCNC1 OTAs:

a) You can NOT install a custom recovery (No CWM, No TWRP, nothing)
b) You can NOT install any AOSP rom
c) You can NOT install a custom kernel
d) Only an unofficial version of Safestrap can be used on VRUDNE1. This is not a custom recovery, Safestrap is NOT a custom recovery.
e) As of 8:50 EST, there is no custom VRUDNE1 TouchWiz rom to install. Safestrap hijacks the bootprocess and only uses the stock kernel, in your case stock VRUDNE1 4.4.2 kernel, in order to boot other custom TouchWiz roms. Only VRUDNE1 roms would be able to successfully flash on your phone. But none exist yet.

Literally all that you can do as of this post is root, debloat, install Safestrap, and hope that you will be able to use custom VRUDNE1 based TouchWiz roms.
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#4  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,923
Posts: 5,428
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by broazny View Post
will i be able to odin back to 4.3 without tripping knox and locking the bootloader?
No, you can not downgrade once on 4.4.2 VRUDNE1.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
broazny
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Nov 2013
thank you very much, do you know when the devs will be able to find a way to downgrade or unlock the bootloader
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS View Post
No, you can not downgrade once on 4.4.2 VRUDNE1.
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
(Last edited by SlimSnoopOS; 1st July 2014 at 06:01 PM.)
#6  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,923
Posts: 5,428
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by broazny View Post
thank you very much, do you know when the devs will be able to find a way to downgrade or unlock the bootloader
I'll be blunt with you, I sincerely doubt that's being actively worked on for our 2 year old device. The bootloader has yet to be unlocked on the S4 which has had an active bounty with numerous devs so its not happening here. If AOSP means that much to you, sell your S3 for a bootloader unlocked S3 or get another device which has less hurdles to get AOSP.

Edit: Or you can email these guys at MobileTechVideos and see if their S3 bootloader downgrade process works on 4.4.2. It is a paid service either way, but some people have considered this when on 4.3.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jcbjoe
Old
(Last edited by jcbjoe; 1st July 2014 at 08:27 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 156
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS View Post
I'll be blunt with you, I sincerely doubt that's being actively worked on for our 2 year old device. The bootloader has yet to be unlocked on the S4 which has had an active bounty with numerous devs so its not happening here. If AOSP means that much to you, sell your S3 for a bootloader unlocked S3 or get another device which has less hurdles to get AOSP.

Edit: Or you can email these guys at MobileTechVideos and see if their S3 bootloader downgrade process works on 4.4.2. It is a paid service either way, but some people have considered this when on 4.3.
Is there any successes to this downgrade of the bootloader of the link that you sent? I'm not on a s4 I'm on a SCH-I535 sgs3 same as s4 if I'm correct.. Correct me if I'm wrong s4 and s3 have a lot of the same stuff
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#8  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,923
Posts: 5,428
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbjoe View Post
Is there any successes to this downgrade of the bootloader of the link that you sent? I'm not on a s4 I'm on a SCH-I535 sgs3 same as s4 if I'm correct.. Correct me if I'm wrong s4 and s3 have a lot of the same stuff
I haven't seen anyone report back on having used this. I figured someone would have done so and posted on xda but, nothing. That link is for the Verizon S3 btw. The S4 was mentioned just for comparison purposes only.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
 
prdog1
Old
(Last edited by prdog1; 2nd July 2014 at 12:05 PM.)
#9  
prdog1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,507
Posts: 7,863
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS View Post
I haven't seen anyone report back on having used this. I figured someone would have done so and posted on xda but, nothing. That link is for the Verizon S3 btw. The S4 was mentioned just for comparison purposes only.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
I originally saw it on XDA. Josh inadvertently reverted one while doing a JTag service. He was able to reproduce it several times in testing. Most don't even know about it till they brick their device and need JTag service.
TEAM MiK / TEAM CLEAN
Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy SIII-I535

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes