Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,375 Members 45,051 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Rooted Vzw S3 with towelroot, can I flash a rom?

Tip us?
 
zdiddy456
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default [Q] Rooted Vzw S3 with towelroot, can I flash a rom?

So I just rooted my phone the other day and I was wondering if I am able to flash a rom. I disabled Knox and things seem to be okay so far. I want to flash Cyanogenmod or SlimKat to my phone and I want to know if I need to unlock the bootloader to get a custom recovery (twrp) and install the rom. Thanks in advance!
 
poppers162
Old
#2  
poppers162's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 198
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdiddy456 View Post
So I just rooted my phone the other day and I was wondering if I am able to flash a rom. I disabled Knox and things seem to be okay so far. I want to flash Cyanogenmod or SlimKat to my phone and I want to know if I need to unlock the bootloader to get a custom recovery (twrp) and install the rom. Thanks in advance!
There's only a select few for a locked bootloader, look around on the general tab, you'll find a TouchWiz 4.3 download topic.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Free mobile app
Droid RAZR M all the way! Unlocked-Rooted-Stock KK
 
zdiddy456
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppers162 View Post
There's only a select few for a locked bootloader, look around on the general tab, you'll find a TouchWiz 4.3 download topic.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Free mobile app
I'm not looking for TouchWiz. It is a resource hog. I want SlimKat or CM.
 
buhohitr
Old
#4  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1486
Posts: 5,099
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdiddy456 View Post
I'm not looking for TouchWiz. It is a resource hog. I want SlimKat or CM.
If you have locked boot loader, which I think you are, you need to install safe strap then flash TW rom. Currently there is only one available for safestrap which can be found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...7/post53919312
 
landshark68
Old
#5  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 477
Posts: 923
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdiddy456 View Post
I'm not looking for TouchWiz. It is a resource hog. I want SlimKat or CM.
You cannot flash any AOSP ROMs when you are on a locked bootloader. It's safestrap and touchwiz ROMs that match your current build (4.3 or 4.4.2) only.

Sent from the Shark Tank using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Shouldn't we treat this world like the garden of Eden and avoid the apple at all costs?

Sometimes you go to the circus.......sometimes the circus comes to you
 
zdiddy456
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2013
Is there any way I can unlock the bootloader?
 
buhohitr
Old
(Last edited by buhohitr; 12th July 2014 at 06:23 AM.)
#7  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1486
Posts: 5,099
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdiddy456 View Post
Is there any way I can unlock the bootloader?
Nope, once you took the OTA 4.3 or 4.4 your boot loader is locked forever, unless someone from Samsung leaks it out for us.
EDIT: OK I was wrong, someone just got downgrade from 4.4 back to 4.1.2 with unlocked boot loader by send it out to a phone service company and the cost is $50.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...