Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MODEMS] I9305 CWM Flashable Modems

OP txr33

28th November 2012, 04:59 PM   |  #11  
_ray_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
I did some testing and found the best modem for my phone. Thanks again OP
29th November 2012, 08:29 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Thumbs up
great!
thx txr33. good chance to test several modems for me.

maybe a short overview could be useful. just to see which modem offers best connectivity in which countries.

__________________________________
Samsung Galaxy SIII LTE gt-i9305 (16 gb)
Rom: Ripper Rom v4.1 XHBLJ1
Kernel: Perseus 3.0.36
29th November 2012, 09:12 AM   |  #13  
tomj333's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Middlesbrough
Thanks Meter: 10
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Website says i need to log in so i dont have access to it?
29th November 2012, 01:49 PM   |  #14  
Member
Flag Cagliari
Thanks Meter: 9
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomj333

Website says i need to log in so i dont have access to it?

That is correct
Greets
29th November 2012, 09:49 PM   |  #15  
txr33's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag QLD
Thanks Meter: 3,529
 
1,825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomj333

Website says i need to log in so i dont have access to it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flydutch

That is correct
Greets

I have updated the link, let me know if that is working now
1st December 2012, 01:38 PM   |  #16  
Member
Flag Reutlingen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syndikat0508


maybe a short overview could be useful. just to see which modem offers best connectivity in which countries.


I tested all modems for about two and a half hour and did some measurement.

I'm living in Germany, Baden Württemberg and for me the two ...ALK2 work best.

XXALK2 has a slightly better reception, but AEALK2 is better at WLAN conncectivity (faster) and finding internet connection at poor reception.

Interestingly the original firmware (T-Mobile) is the worst from all the listed ones, by far!
The internet speed in all networks (3G, H+...) is half (!) as fast compared to the ...ALK2 ones

I attached the exel chart I did for the test. It's German, but I hope you'll get what it means, otherwise I'll translate it.
Attached Files
File Type: xlsx Modemvergleich.xlsx - [Click for QR Code] (10.4 KB, 980 views)
Last edited by usedr; 1st December 2012 at 01:55 PM.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to usedr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 05:32 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Hi all,

This may help a few French users, and maybe others too. I quickly made a CWM flashable zip by using one of the files available on this thread (many thanks to all the devs for the great job by the way !) and replacing the modem inside by the one contained in the French SFR I9305XXALK5 ROM file (jellybean 4.1.1).

I noticed that this modem is giving me by far the best data connexion when used along with custom ROMs. As some German users mentionned earlier, I noticed that when I use custom ROMs (Ripper or Supreme) I can not benefit from Dual Carrier (or 4G) anymore. My data connexion is then restricted to 3G or HSPDA.

By flashing this file, I managed to at least connect in HSPDA+. But still no dual carrier, unfortunately . As I am a very basic user, I can not investigate the reason why I lose 4G when I flash a custom ROM (4G works nicely when I use SFR provider stock ROM).

If you want to give it a try, the file is available HERE.

I would be glad to read if some people are experiencing the same problems.
Last edited by shalmanaser; 2nd December 2012 at 05:37 PM.
2nd December 2012, 06:50 PM   |  #18  
MrPontus's Avatar
Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 12
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
ok, flashing your GT-I9305 modems on a GT-I9305N was a bad idea, it broke my 4G and more or mess my 3G too
I only had "E" (Edge?) on AEALK2 and I had 0.05Mbit
with XXALK2 I messured ~2Mbit and I had 3G and H+ for a short while.

I found a source of my original firmware and extracted the modem and made it to a flashable cwm zip
(first time I did this and I did it the easy way, editing an existing .zip downloaded from first post, so my .zip will have the "Ripper" message while flashing)

tested ok by me.

I9305N XXALI8

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bqou3hw79u...305NXXALI8.zip
The Following User Says Thank You to MrPontus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 08:55 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPontus

ok, flashing your GT-I9305 modems on a GT-I9305N was a bad idea, it broke my 4G and more or mess my 3G too
I only had "E" (Edge?) on AEALK2 and I had 0.05Mbit
with XXALK2 I messured ~2Mbit and I had 3G and H+ for a short while.

Hi

That's a pity, sorry for this problem. The modem I took from the French provider SFR is I9305AEALK2. I just discussed with a member on a French forum, and he thinks that this version is optimized for SFR network. But the fact that your phone is a "N" version can also explain the differences. I do not know what is the difference between N and non-N versions.

I think I will try your modem, in order to see if I can get a better connexion. With my file I get something like 10 Mbps on speedtest when connected on HSPDA+.
The Following User Says Thank You to shalmanaser For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 09:29 PM   |  #20  
Member
Flag Gothenburg
Thanks Meter: 13
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I think N is for Nordic. Im fr sweden & got the N version...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes