Post Reply

[MOD] Long Press Volume Buttons to skip songs

OP jakubklos

13th July 2012, 05:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 164
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Yes, finally it is here!
After couple of hours of coding in smali and debugging endless boot loops it works.

Change your music tracks when your screen is off and music is playing by long pressing the volume buttons.

Update:
- New JB and ICS support
- New 500ms timeout used instead of 1sec.
- New CWM flashable zip
- New Diff available for ROM cooks

ICS: Wanam-Lite ROM 1.7
JB: Wanam-Lite ROM 4.3 (4.1.1)

Enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: zip VolumeLongPressDiff.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.5 KB, 2898 views)
File Type: zip VolumeLongPress_S3_ICS.zip - [Click for QR Code] (399.6 KB, 1138 views)
File Type: zip VolumeLongPress_S3_JB.zip - [Click for QR Code] (510.1 KB, 3336 views)
Last edited by jakubklos; 21st November 2012 at 10:03 AM.
The Following 83 Users Say Thank You to jakubklos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th July 2012, 05:44 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakubklos

Yes, finally it is here!
After couple of hours of coding in smali and debugging endless boot loops it works.

Change your music tracks when your screen is off and music is playing by long pressing the volume buttons.

You need to replace your /system/framework/android.policy.jar with the one below.

I am sure the ROM chefs will be soon putting this in their new ROMs.

I used the Wanam-Lite ROM 1.6 to decompile the original android.policy.jar so if you are on some latest ROM it should work fine.

Enjoy!

Doesn't work in Paranoid 1.5a (CM9).
It doesn't boot any more.
13th July 2012, 05:49 PM   |  #3  
Mikee.H's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 5
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Would this work with Poweramp ?
13th July 2012, 06:47 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikee.H

Would this work with Poweramp ?

This doesn't work on Omega 9 /Franco 10. Tried Poweramp and Sammy Music Player.

Changed permissions before rebooting so no problems there but long press on volume only makes the volume go up/down really quick as per stock.
13th July 2012, 06:54 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Udon Thani, Thailand
Thanks Meter: 14
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikee.H

Would this work with Poweramp ?

Works with PowerAmp - but u must aktivate ICS-Lockscreen in PA settings.
13th July 2012, 07:05 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkh@xda

Works with PowerAmp - but u must aktivate ICS-Lockscreen in PA settings.


ladies and gentlemen, i am an idiot.

i did not read the op properly.

this works when the screen is off.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to jaykay1967 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th July 2012, 07:09 PM   |  #7  
babijoee's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 161
 
1,527 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
I'm assuming this is just for Sammy roms as AOSP and AOKP already have these features built in.
13th July 2012, 07:28 PM   |  #8  
aydc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
998 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
Thumbs up
I confirm that it works with Wanam 1.6.
13th July 2012, 07:50 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 164
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariedam

Doesn't work in Paranoid 1.5a (CM9).
It doesn't boot any more.

True, only stock based ROMs shoudl be supported. CM9 and AOKP already have this feature.
I have tested it on Wanam 1.5 and Wanam 1.6 but others should be working too.
The Following User Says Thank You to jakubklos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th July 2012, 09:01 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
Replaced the file and changed permission. Reboot the phone and it behaves the same in Sammy player and PA. ICS lock screen is always on for PA. Long pressing up and down will only change volume for me. I am on stock ROM and kernel.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
change, long, press, track, volume
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S III Android Development by ThreadRank