Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,583 Members 40,232 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BASEBAND] [RIL] Telcel CMW Modem and RIL UBELL1

Tip us?
 
Alf0903
Old
#11  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Luis Potosi
So far so good installed on 4.1.2 ELLA, Philz Touch Recovery 4.35 and Perseus 30/01 Kernel, better connection, with ELLA modem it took ages to connect a call, now it is a really quick connection, keep up the good work, thanks a lot!
The Following User Says Thank You to Alf0903 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kamalmawa
Old
(Last edited by kamalmawa; 13th February 2013 at 04:27 AM.)
#12  
kamalmawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1014
Posts: 1,346
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne
Default Re: [BASEBAND] [RIL] Telcel CMW Modem and RIL UBELL1

What's the difference between what you posted and what I posted here ?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=74
I checked the MD5s they are the same RILs

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Device: Sony Xperia Z2 D6503
OS: Android 4.4.2
ROM: Stock 17.1.1.A.0.438
Kernel: Stock


Old Devices: Galaxy S I9000, Galaxy S3 I9300T, Sony Xperia Z

Xperia Z Australian Firmwares
S3 RIL+Modem Thread
S3 Stock Kernels Thread
 
Alf0903
Old
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Luis Potosi
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamalmawa View Post
What's the difference between what you posted and what I posted here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=36995376
I checked the MD5s they are the same RILs

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
It may be pretty much the same, as far as I can see, but this one was extracted directly from TELCEL's ROM, so I would think it is branded for our Mexican carrier, being that just my best guess.
 
kamalmawa
Old
(Last edited by kamalmawa; 13th February 2013 at 05:35 AM.)
#14  
kamalmawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1014
Posts: 1,346
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne
Default Re: [BASEBAND] [RIL] Telcel CMW Modem and RIL UBELL1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alf0903 View Post
It may be pretty much the same, as far as I can see, but this one was extracted directly from TELCEL's ROM, so I would think it is branded for our Mexican carrier, being that just my best guess.
Doesn't matter which ROM you extracted from If the MD5 is the same that means nothing changed... They don't change the RILs for specific carrier... Only for deferent modems.. In fact sometimes they use the same RILs different modems

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Device: Sony Xperia Z2 D6503
OS: Android 4.4.2
ROM: Stock 17.1.1.A.0.438
Kernel: Stock


Old Devices: Galaxy S I9000, Galaxy S3 I9300T, Sony Xperia Z

Xperia Z Australian Firmwares
S3 RIL+Modem Thread
S3 Stock Kernels Thread
 
Alf0903
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Luis Potosi
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamalmawa View Post
If the MD5 is the same that means nothing changed.. doesn't matter which ROM you extracted from... They don't change the RILs for specific carrier... Only for deferent modems.. In fact sometimes they use the same RILs different modems

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
So there is your answer, it is the same, which makes sense, since both modems (the one for your post, and this one) are for latinamerican carriers, the main difference would be for us final users, who do not have your technical skills, to have them compared, so it must be a feeling safe sense, to flash the modem extracted fron our carrier, that would be the final, and may be the must important difference.
 
MrFhenix
Old
#16  
MrFhenix's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 315
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Never Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [BASEBAND] [RIL] Telcel CMW Modem and RIL UBELL1

Quote:
Originally Posted by kamalmawa View Post
Doesn't matter which ROM you extracted from If the MD5 is the same that means nothing changed... They don't change the RILs for specific carrier... Only for deferent modems.. In fact sometimes they use the same RILs different modems

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
actually Mr kamawala I have to disagree it can have the same RIL but the actual modem can be optimized differently for what ever the carrier needs you can see the size difference from your file and mine telcel modem . bin is much smaller in size I invite you to download it and compare them your self :thumbup:
cheerios
by the way thanks for your thread
salutations
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1360744054198.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	1725911  
 
kamalmawa
Old
#17  
kamalmawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1014
Posts: 1,346
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by fermartz View Post
actually Mr kamawala I have to disagree it can have the same RIL but the actual modem can be optimized differently for what ever the carrier needs you can see the size difference from your file and mine telcel modem . bin is much smaller in size I invite you to download it and compare them your self :thumbup:
cheerios
by the way thanks for your thread
salutations
What you compared is two zip files which contains the modem.bin.. the zip file you edited just compressed bit more than what I originally posted probably due to different programs we both used.. Look at the screen shot below it's the same modem.bin file with same size, same modified date and same MD5...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	modem_Compare.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	1726042  
Device: Sony Xperia Z2 D6503
OS: Android 4.4.2
ROM: Stock 17.1.1.A.0.438
Kernel: Stock


Old Devices: Galaxy S I9000, Galaxy S3 I9300T, Sony Xperia Z

Xperia Z Australian Firmwares
S3 RIL+Modem Thread
S3 Stock Kernels Thread
 
diego9016
Old
#18  
diego9016's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 568
Join Date: May 2012
Working good with Movistar - Colombia.

Thanks
 
arcaneck
Old
#19  
arcaneck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: puebla
Default Re: [BASEBAND] [RIL] Telcel CMW Modem and RIL UBELL1

Qué onda yo estoy usando últimamente omega rom v42 y desde la versión 39 he notado que mi servicio de Internet telcel estaba muy lento y que muy seguido me quedaba sin señal y realmente no sabía porque, hice wipe y volví a instalar todo y he actualizado para ver si se resolvía, pero lo, seguía igual, así que acabo de instalar este tweak y ya les contaré si noto una mejora en el servicio de Internet y señal.

Saludos

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
alankstiyo
Old
#20  
alankstiyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 1,152
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Buried deep inside my mind
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcaneck View Post
Qué onda yo estoy usando últimamente omega rom v42 y desde la versión 39 he notado que mi servicio de Internet telcel estaba muy lento y que muy seguido me quedaba sin señal y realmente no sabía porque, hice wipe y volví a instalar todo y he actualizado para ver si se resolvía, pero lo, seguía igual, así que acabo de instalar este tweak y ya les contaré si noto una mejora en el servicio de Internet y señal.

Saludos

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
Telcel sucks, that´s the only reason, in Puebla I had no more than 2mb, in Guadalajara between 1 and 1.5mb, and been using european roms for quite a while, can´t tell you now cause I´m in the US with no data plan, went for an iphone 5 and got over 12mb in 3g

what I recommend you is using any euro rom without considering the modem and keep it, and take your phone to telcel and tell them they suck

Current devices: Sony Xperia Z1(unlocked) / Nexus 7 32Gb / Iphone 5s 16Gb
Iphone 5 16gb [sold]
Galaxy S3 I9300 16Gb [gave it to my mom]
LG Optimus 3D [loved the 3D world, faulty phone gone now]
SE Xperia X10a Luster white [gave to dad]
SE Xperia X1a Black [back to daddy]

Tags
ril and modem, telcel, ubell1, ubell6
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes