Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,291 Members 47,001 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BEWARE]Samsung made improvements against reseting flash counter

Tip us?
 
EdgaBimbam
Old
(Last edited by EdgaBimbam; 3rd October 2012 at 06:59 PM.)
#1  
EdgaBimbam's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,129
Posts: 2,558
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vilnius

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 [BEWARE]Samsung made improvements against reseting flash counter


To start with, I'm flash addict and always trying to flash new roms/firmwares. However after flashing one of the newest samsung firmware i got this little red exlamation mark:




I have tried to reset flash counter in a lot of ways but it always stayed at number "1" (After you reset with triangle away latest, opening app again shows 0 flash counter but after reboot it increases to 1). Even if my flash counter was 5, after reset it was staying with 1. Seems that samsung introduced some security improvements against reseting flash counter for galaxy s3.
But one xda member InsteadWoolf published solution to reset flash counter:

1- Reset via Triangle Away
2- Turn off phone and go to download mode.
3- Then flash via odin pc the stock firmware you want.
After this method flash counter is 0. However if you go for custom rom or not stock kernel, that red exlamation mark comes back and flash counter increases to 1.


BIG CREDITS TO InsteadWoolf
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.” André Gide
Need help?
 


iPhone 5 16GB White
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to EdgaBimbam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JJEgan
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,418
Posts: 23,038
Join Date: Oct 2010
So what firmware are you claiming Samsung has hacked as i have yet to see this on any build .

jje
 
EdgaBimbam
Old
(Last edited by EdgaBimbam; 3rd October 2012 at 06:52 PM.)
#3  
EdgaBimbam's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,129
Posts: 2,558
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vilnius

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJEgan View Post
So what firmware are you claiming Samsung has hacked as i have yet to see this on any build .

jje
i cant say exactly because didnt notice when i got it but i think with the latest BLH3 one ics. Never had this problem before, was flashing a lot via pc odin and reseting to 0 easily. And before i had even flash counter 5 and there wasnt any red exlamation mark like in the picture.
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.” André Gide
Need help?
 


iPhone 5 16GB White
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EdgaBimbam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Theshawty
Old
#4  
Theshawty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,408
Posts: 15,206
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for noticing.

But, damn but what greasy screen! You should clean it more often.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Theshawty For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EdgaBimbam
Old
#5  
EdgaBimbam's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,129
Posts: 2,558
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vilnius

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theshawty View Post
Thanks for noticing.

But, damn but what greasy screen! You should clean it more often.
it is with crap screen protector
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.” André Gide
Need help?
 


iPhone 5 16GB White
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EdgaBimbam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Simonetti2011
Old
#6  
Simonetti2011's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 252
Posts: 530
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Belo Horizonte
Are you sure that has something to do with the flash counter?
If you like my post, don't forget to Thank it.
[SIZE="1"][FONT="Verdana"]
- Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505 black rooted, ROM 4.3 DBT (stock kernel)
- Motorola Xoom MZ605 3G TeamEOS4 JB 4.2.2 (rooted, duh!)

Check out my Android apps on Google Play Store!
 
Ohamn
Old
#7  
Ohamn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 247
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oskarshamn

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Phew......

.....so glad that that **** didn't show up after flashing Jelly Bean over Odin!!
Something to look out for? What do you guys think?

// Ohamn
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3
Jelly Bean I9300XXDLI8
16 GB Sandisk memory card

Retired:
Samsung Galaxy S2
HTC Topaz (Touch Diamond2)
Qtek S200 (Prophet)
Qtek 9090 (Blue Angel)

Former ¨˜”°º•ENE®GY•º°”˜¨ ROM Addict!

If my post helped you in any way, please hit the thanks button! Spread the love!.
 
azcamm27
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jul 2012
I had the same issue after flashing a miui rom i had to reset with triangle away and go into download mode straight away without letting the phone boot up then flash full stock ics via odin and it reset. It took me ages to work it out i nearly gave up.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium HD app
 
EdgaBimbam
Old
#9  
EdgaBimbam's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,129
Posts: 2,558
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vilnius

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcamm27 View Post
I had the same issue after flashing a miui rom i had to reset with triangle away and go into download mode straight away without letting the phone boot up then flash full stock ics via odin and it reset. It took me ages to work it out i nearly gave up.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium HD app
but if u flash something not official then u wont be able to reset again. This is smt new, never was like that
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.” André Gide
Need help?
 


iPhone 5 16GB White
The Following User Says Thank You to EdgaBimbam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JJEgan
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,418
Posts: 23,038
Join Date: Oct 2010
As i have flashed and reset at least 50 times in the last few weeks .

Reset counter with TA.
Flash custom kernel via Odin.

Nothing bar standard rom count of 1.
Run TA still nothing and counter 0 .
I wonder if something else is triggering the red mark .

jje

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes