5,604,730 Members 31,749 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Barclays Mobile Banking working on rooted S3

Tip us?
 
Faz1980
Old
(Last edited by Faz1980; 13th August 2012 at 07:43 PM.)
#1  
Faz1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Default [HOW TO] Barclays Mobile Banking working on rooted S3

I've seen a few threads asking if it is posible to get this working on a rooted S3 so thought I'd share how I got it running. This appears to ONLY work with Barclays apps!

Software Needed:

ES File Explorer (free from Play Store)
Barclays Mobile Banking / Pingit (also free from the Play Store)

Steps:

1: Open ES Explorer options and make sure you enable 'Up to Root' & 'Root Explorer'.
2: Navigate to '/system/xbin/' and long press on 'SU' and select 'Hide' from the menu.

NOTE: if you update the SuperSU binary, you will need to do step 2 again!

That's it! No more messing around. You don't need to touch anything else before or after you open the app like temp unroot/hide root. I dont know if Barclays can solve that with an update so I don't plan on updating the app. I'm not a coder and don't know a lot about the technical details of Android so if you run in to problems I can only TRY to help you.

Thanks.


Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Faz1980 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Faz1980
Old
#2  
Faz1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Ive been using this for a few days now but just started having FC's.

I just re- enabled the permission and rebooted and it's working again.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Faz1980 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
slaphead20
Old
#3  
slaphead20's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4740
Posts: 11,288
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Out there somewhere

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice tip dude, will give this a try :thumbup::thumbup:
All donations to me will go to THE PICKERING CENTRE...my local cancer drop in centre, a registered charity no.1112623
http://www.pickeringcancercentre.org.uk/index.html
 
Faz1980
Old
#4  
Faz1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
I've just downloaded SkyGo and the app opens and I get to the TV guide and get the option to watch it of I sign in. I don't have Sky so can't test any further.

I'm assuming it checks for root when it opens so I'd class that as a success!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
Audio
Old
#5  
Audio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 476
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salford Quays, Manchester
Awesome thanks you legend
| - AudiŲ - |
If my knowledge helped you, why not return the favour


Current Phone:
05/07/2012 - Present | Samsung Galaxy S3
ROM: Omega v11

Previous Phones:
HTC HD7 | HTC TyTN II | Samsung E900 | I've forgot the rest
 
Faz1980
Old
#6  
Faz1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Did it work for you?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
Matt3333
Old
#7  
Matt3333's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 141
Join Date: May 2012
Done this earlier and it works for me! Thanks for sharing. God knows why Barclays do this!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
Faz1980
Old
#8  
Faz1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Glad it works.

Did you do all the steps or just hide the su file?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
daz_2000
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 500
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
I dont have this app. But tried for sky go.

I dont see Su as per step 4.

I also obviously skipped the first steps. But did do step 3.

Fyi. When u play a channel is when u get error for root.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to daz_2000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Faz1980
Old
#10  
Faz1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Bugger!

Do you use Superuser or SuperSU?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes