Post Reply

MicroUSB cable fix

OP alchopop

6th January 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #1  
alchopop's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 127
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Over the past 20 months of ownership of my SGS3 I have had to replace my charger cable numerous times due to the plug not fitting properly in the socket of the phone. I had thought it was a problem with the phone and so just kept on buying new cables every few months.

This morning the latest cable failed and I had only just bought it 3 days ago, ticked off is putting it midly. So I thought I wonder if!

I wonder if the plug on the cable would benefit from a nip right in the middle so that it makes a proper connection with the phone and what do you know it works. I now have about 10 working cables lol. Spent a flipping fortune on them this last 20 months.

So if I have been of use and saved someone else a few 's, $'s or whatever currency you use please just hit the thanks button.

Happy New year all

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to alchopop For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 01:03 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
491 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alchopop

Over the past 20 months of ownership of my SGS3 I have had to replace my charger cable numerous times due to the plug not fitting properly in the socket of the phone. I had thought it was a problem with the phone and so just kept on buying new cables every few months.

This morning the latest cable failed and I had only just bought it 3 days ago, ticked off is putting it midly. So I thought I wonder if!

I wonder if the plug on the cable would benefit from a nip right in the middle so that it makes a proper connection with the phone and what do you know it works. I now have about 10 working cables lol. Spent a flipping fortune on them this last 20 months.

So if I have been of use and saved someone else a few 's, $'s or whatever currency you use please just hit the thanks button.

Happy New year all

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Pardon my ignorance but... what's a nip?
Can you share a pic of what you've done to the cable please?

Thank you.
6th January 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #3  
alchopop's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 127
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
As you can see the plug has been pushed up at the bottom. This helps tighten the plug in the socket. It only needs a gentle nip with a pair of pliers. Not too hard else the plug won't go into the socket. If you look at the plug on your cable it is flat at the bottom

Hope that's of use to you.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1389013976310.jpg
Views:	345
Size:	23.9 KB
ID:	2498009  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alchopop For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 04:48 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Krusevac
Thanks Meter: 26
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
It works, i just try with two cables.Thanks.
6th January 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #5  
alchopop's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 127
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Great

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
6th January 2014, 09:00 PM   |  #6  
bornlivedie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 358
 
983 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
That did the trick. Now when I move the cable, it doesn't get disconnected.

I feel stupid... how didn't I think of this before?
7th January 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #7  
MethMargera's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
hye there...thanks for the solution...
but i got one prob...
the cable is connected but it said USB device not recognice while other cable working perfectly..
can anyone explain to me???^_^
thanks
7th January 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #8  
alchopop's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 127
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Dunno. Maybe the unrecognisable cable is beyond even that solution

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S III General by ThreadRank