FORUMS
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

High RAM usage? try this..

5th September 2012, 05:15 PM |#1  
mwatson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
I always seem to have my RAM maxed out like a lot of users.

Try disabling the lock screen ripple effect. settings>security and lock screen> lock screen options> untick "ripple effect"

By doing this this my phone idles around 500MB of used RAM as a posed to 680MB or more. I've not had a screen re-draw since either..

Try it. and post your findings
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mwatson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
5th September 2012, 05:18 PM |#2  
AcoAlex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
It helps ^_^ tanx man

Sent from Galaxy S3 da white one
5th September 2012, 05:32 PM |#3  
rab1412000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
Did you have to reboot to notice the effects?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
5th September 2012, 05:56 PM |#4  
lalo_il_pugile's Avatar
Member
Roma
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
yeee
it works man!!!! Thanx a lot !!
5th September 2012, 06:18 PM |#5  
rakeshtiw's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Didn't work for me..after some time the ram is back at 620+

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
5th September 2012, 06:33 PM |#6  
ghampton10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Interesting. i went from 605mb to 540mb used. Even though i had "with swipe unlock" unchecked to start with (have to check it to get to the ripple option then disable it, then uncheck it again) it made a difference. you would think if the main option was unchecked everything inside that section would be turned off. guess not. Didnt do a reboot. now i have done a reboot and im still sitting around 530-540mb used.

Seems like it can work
5th September 2012, 07:29 PM |#7  
aydc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 382
 
More
I always use my phones with no lockscreen at all. Lockscreen is not necessary at all anyway. I've been using smartphones for years and there hasn't been even one case where my smartphone woke up by itself in my pocket and started dialing people.
6th September 2012, 02:26 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 204
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aydc

I always use my phones with no lockscreen at all. Lockscreen is not necessary at all anyway. I've been using smartphones for years and there hasn't been even one case where my smartphone woke up by itself in my pocket and started dialing people.

My Xperia X10, HTC Desire and Galaxy S2 all used to unlock and dial people all the time, sometimes even with pattern lock on it was absolutely infuriating although S3 doesn't seem to ever unlock itself which is a relief lol But when an app wakes the screen, with no lockscreen I can imagine that would play havoc in me pocket lol.
6th September 2012, 03:28 AM |#9  
a67543210's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
I disabled my ripple effect and found my ram jump to 700MB. Before disabling ripple effect, I was on 530MB ram usage. I am on Latest Stock Jelly bean.

---------- Post added at 03:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:20 AM ----------

I`ve just re-enabled the ripple effect and rebooted. My ram is at 468MB. Are you sure this your technique works?
6th September 2012, 04:24 AM |#10  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1,311
 
More
Thanks for the suggestion, but it didn't have any effect on RAM on my device.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes