Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,714 Members 47,008 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Flashing stock rom with odin?

Tip us?
 
Such Name
Old
#1  
Such Name's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Dec 2013
Question [Q] Flashing stock rom with odin?

So. My S3's LCD is dead, and it's otherwise still working perfectly and I'm going to sell it for a person who is gonna change the LCD and use it. So if i just flash stock rom with odin, will it delete all files from my phone? Like pictures, videos, sounds and stuff?
 
dumpuz
Old
(Last edited by dumpuz; 17th August 2014 at 09:01 PM.)
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jun 2010
Unfortunately that won't reset everything, the only way it would is if you would also flash the pit file so it reformats the phone. But this is dangerous and NOT recommended at all. But if you think it's worth the risk you could try, it can take a VERY long time.

Edit:
Just saw your previous thread that you managed to save your files. You can also delete the files the through ADB
 
Such Name
Old
#3  
Such Name's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumpuz View Post
Unfortunately that won't reset everything, the only way it would is if you would also flash the pit file so it reformats the phone. But this is dangerous and NOT recommended at all. But if you think it's worth the risk you could try, it can take a VERY long time.

Edit:
Just saw your previous thread that you managed to save your files. You can also delete the files the through ADB
Oh i see. How its dangerous though? And also, what is the best way to totally format this phone?
 
Such Name
Old
#4  
Such Name's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Dec 2013
"Emergency bumb"! I need help as fast as possible to clean my phone as good as possible!
 
dumpuz
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jun 2010
It's dangerous as in you can make the phone completely useless, so if you used the adb method to pull files, try using the shell to remove
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes