Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,676 Members 52,053 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Should I9305 say "4G" or "LTE" in bar on top speed?

Tip us?
 
Innis
Old
(Last edited by Innis; 14th February 2013 at 02:22 PM.) Reason: Info.
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 39
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Should I9305 say "4G" or "LTE" in bar on top speed?

Just a general question, will the I9305 say "LTE" or just "4G" in the top bar when maximum reception is reached? I have stock rom TGY. I live in Toronto and have only seen "4G" display on mine with Fido... but I have seen the domestic versions of friends display "LTE" with same service and location as me? Is it because international standard name is "4G" not "LTE" like in Hong Kong?
 
minmarnoo
Old
#2  
minmarnoo's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innis View Post
Just a general question, will the I9305 say "LTE" or just "4G" in the top bar when maximum reception is reached? I have stock rom TGY. I live in Toronto and have only seen "4G" display on mine with Fido... but I have seen the domestic versions of friends display "LTE" with same service and location as me? Is it because international standard name is "4G" not "LTE" like in Hong Kong?
same here.
Singapore - Singtel version
 
gutoneto
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney
Quote:
Originally Posted by minmarnoo View Post
same here.
Singapore - Singtel version
Mine's shows 4G
 
ansonscleung
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 55
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hong Kong

 
DONATE TO ME
Mine is 4G, whenever in stock or CM10.1

HK version GT-i9305 like yours
Not a noob nor developer but a

Noob-developer!

Using: Samsung Galaxy S III LTE [GT-I9305] | Samsung Galaxy NotePro 12.2 LTE [SM-P905]

Retired: Samsung Galaxy S [GT-I9000] | Samsung Galaxy Nexus [GT-I9250] | Samsung Galaxy Tab [GT-P1000] | Asus Nexus 7 3G
 
Magik_Breezy
Old
#5  
Magik_Breezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 200
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Should I9305 say "4G" or "LTE" in bar on top speed?

I believe that it depends on your modem, I have had LTE before but also 4G but I never really thought about it that much

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy S III 4G Int (I9305T)
ROM: CM 10.2 Nightly
 
bogusmr
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Porto
Just 4G in Portugal with stock room 4.1.1
 
deepsweech
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore
I believe that depends on your service provider. This varies depending from what kind of '4G' or LTE signal your provider is offering. The best thing you can do is to test the speed of your connection if you are really getting above the 3G speed. Download speedtest from Playstore and see.
 
Magik_Breezy
Old
#8  
Magik_Breezy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 200
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Should I9305 say "4G" or "LTE" in bar on top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepsweech View Post
I believe that depends on your service provider. This varies depending from what kind of '4G' or LTE signal your provider is offering. The best thing you can do is to test the speed of your connection if you are really getting above the 3G speed. Download speedtest from Playstore and see.
I believe I have had both 4G and LTE at different times, same provider so I think it is just ROM or modem specific. Unless the tower configurations can be a variable

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy S III 4G Int (I9305T)
ROM: CM 10.2 Nightly

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more