Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,878 Members 37,200 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Solved] Help requested! System partion corrupted

Tip us?
 
megahypercat
Old
(Last edited by megahypercat; 22nd May 2014 at 08:44 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thumbs up [Solved] Help requested! System partion corrupted

Hey. I have a problem with my i9305. It was running low on battery and was in my pocket. It ran out while in my pocket, and I swapped to a fresh battery. But when I started it, it requested my pin and i put it in... but then up came an error in GERMAN!

It said: "der gerätespeicher ist beschädigt. die datennpartition ist beschädigt. sie mussen ihr gerät auf die werkseinstellungen zurucksetzen. dabei werden alle daten gelöscht."

Roughly translated it means: "the device memory is corrupt. the data partition is corrupted. they need their device to factory settings RECALL Recall. while all data will be deleted. "

It had a button that said basically said "restore unit" and when I press that I boot into recovery. In recovery I can't mount the system or data partions wipe, restore, or flash anything. What could I do!??!

I was using allianceROM and TWRP.

I followed deadric's advice and re-flashed the phone to stock with odin. I used a 4.1 rom fitting for my phone. At fist this stuck me in a bootloop because flashin in odin didn't clear /data. That could be done through samsungs recovery, thankfully. It is now up and running again!
 
daedric
Old
#2  
daedric's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 344
Posts: 1,711
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Porto
Quote:
Originally Posted by megahypercat View Post
Hey. I have a problem with my i9305. It was running low on battery and was in my pocket. It ran out while in my pocket, and I swapped to a fresh battery. But when I started it, it requested my pin and i put it in... but then up came an error in GERMAN!

It said: "der gerätespeicher ist beschädigt. die datennpartition ist beschädigt. sie mussen ihr gerät auf die werkseinstellungen zurucksetzen. dabei werden alle daten gelöscht."

Roughly translated it means: "the device memory is corrupt. the data partition is corrupted. they need their device to factory settings RECALL Recall. while all data will be deleted. "

It had a button that said basically said "restore unit" and when I press that I boot into recovery. In recovery I can't mount the system or data partions wipe, restore, or flash anything. What could I do!??!

I was using allianceROM and TWRP.
First, i DO hope that you have a EFS backup.

Second, you're running TWRP, it's not that stable on our devices, change to Philz or original CWR.

Third, if /system cannot be mounted... your only choice is Odin. Flash a stock rom via odin, carefull with Knox.

HTC Kaiser . CM6 ......... OC@530mHz - Kitchen Watch with NTP .
HTC Leo .... CMX OC@1.19gHz, Jellybean
HTC Ace .... CMX OC@1.5gHz, ICS + Sense 4.0
The Following User Says Thank You to daedric For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
megahypercat
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by daedric View Post
First, i DO hope that you have a EFS backup.

Second, you're running TWRP, it's not that stable on our devices, change to Philz or original CWR.

Third, if /system cannot be mounted... your only choice is Odin. Flash a stock rom via odin, carefull with Knox.
What is KNOX? And what do I need efs for? It would probably be annoying to explain so if you know someplace I can read about it i'd be very happy. I knew EFS was important but if I'm unlucky my only backup was on the phone. Alright, I'll try it as soon as I figure out what KNOX is.

Thanks a lot!!!
 
megahypercat
Old
(Last edited by megahypercat; 21st May 2014 at 07:16 PM.) Reason: Adding info
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by daedric View Post
First, i DO hope that you have a EFS backup.

Second, you're running TWRP, it's not that stable on our devices, change to Philz or original CWR.

Third, if /system cannot be mounted... your only choice is Odin. Flash a stock rom via odin, carefull with Knox.
Oh I think I found my EFS backup. efs.tar.gz , 8KB. Seems small but since I don't know what it is... After some research I understand that it is some radio firmware.

Also, is KNOX that flash counter that voids warranty? That doesn't matter to me.
 
daedric
Old
#5  
daedric's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 344
Posts: 1,711
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Porto
KNOX is a kind of bootloader. Once it's in our i9305, you're not getting it out. It has a fuse... once you trip it, it's gone. And with it the warranty. So if you have never flashed a official TouchWiz 4.3, stay away from them.

EFS is the partition that stores a few VERY important firmwares, namely the one that has your IMEI. Without it, the phone part of the device is gone. 8kb seems right.

Try to download a custom 4.3 without knox, and flash it via Odin.

HTC Kaiser . CM6 ......... OC@530mHz - Kitchen Watch with NTP .
HTC Leo .... CMX OC@1.19gHz, Jellybean
HTC Ace .... CMX OC@1.5gHz, ICS + Sense 4.0
The Following User Says Thank You to daedric For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
megahypercat
Old
(Last edited by megahypercat; 21st May 2014 at 09:19 PM.)
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by daedric View Post
KNOX is a kind of bootloader. Once it's in our i9305, you're not getting it out. It has a fuse... once you trip it, it's gone. And with it the warranty. So if you have never flashed a official TouchWiz 4.3, stay away from them.

EFS is the partition that stores a few VERY important firmwares, namely the one that has your IMEI. Without it, the phone part of the device is gone. 8kb seems right.

Try to download a custom 4.3 without knox, and flash it via Odin.
Thank you!!!

Would a stock based rom be alright, like Aliancerom for example? Or would 4.1 stock sammy be alright? I'm downloading one now, but samsung-updates is very very slow.

Update: I flashed the correct stock 4.1 rom to the phone but now I have a nice bootloop instead.

update 2: Tried wiping data in the stock recovery, it boots now! Thanks a lot for the help.
 
daedric
Old
#7  
daedric's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 344
Posts: 1,711
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Porto
You're welcome. Edit original post, (as in, add to it, don't remove anything), explain what you did, edit the title and add [SOLVED] in the beggining.

HTC Kaiser . CM6 ......... OC@530mHz - Kitchen Watch with NTP .
HTC Leo .... CMX OC@1.19gHz, Jellybean
HTC Ace .... CMX OC@1.5gHz, ICS + Sense 4.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes