Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: What's your average DL speed in UK (3G only!!)
Under 10Mbps 8 44.44%
10-20Mbps 7 38.89%
Above 20Mbps 3 16.67%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Closed

[THREAD CLOSED] SpeedTests, Benchmarks (AnTuTu, OpenGL..)

OP DjeMBeY

27th November 2012, 10:51 PM   |  #21  
btemtd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
2,051 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
ahh I see so the best thing you could do is hit the Speed test and then quickly hit the home button and goto phone and dial *#0011# to see what you are on, this is the only way i can see of that will allow you to see what you are doing while your on a test cause there is no option in speedtest for testmode to see live info while your peforming the test. I guess that is ok if you in a strong DC area if your in my area in that 2 -3 seconds it takes you to go to phone and press the test number it could of switched modes lol
Last edited by btemtd; 27th November 2012 at 10:55 PM.
27th November 2012, 11:03 PM   |  #22  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,415
 
3,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd

ahh I see so the best thing you could do is hit the Speed test and then quickly hit the home button and goto phone and dial *#0011# to see what you are on, this is the only way i can see of that will allow you to see what you are doing while your on a test cause there is no option in speedtest for testmode to see live info while your peforming the test. I guess that is ok if you in a strong DC area if your in my area in that 2 -3 seconds it takes you to go to phone and press the test number it could of switched modes lol

Correct! You can do in this order: dial *#0011# and press home, open and run SpeedTest then hold home and switch to Test mode...

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
27th November 2012, 11:04 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Flag Braga
Thanks Meter: 68
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd

ahh I see so the best thing you could do is hit the Speed test and then quickly hit the home button and goto phone and dial *#0011# to see what you are on, this is the only way i can see of that will allow you to see what you are doing while your on a test cause there is no option in speedtest for testmode to see live info while your peforming the test. I guess that is ok if you in a strong DC area if your in my area in that 2 -3 seconds it takes you to go to phone and press the test number it could of switched modes lol

What I did was enter service mode and then turn data on, it's the same as doing a speed test because email and such will use Internet. Here are my print screens


http://db.tt/JIRtAqfU

http://db.tt/tTtZ0NcQ
Last edited by Badelhas; 27th November 2012 at 11:15 PM.
27th November 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #24  
btemtd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
2,051 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
your Attachment pics are corrupt cannot see anything

---------- Post added at 09:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by djembey

Correct! You can do in this order: dial *#0011# and press home, open and run SpeedTest then hold home and switch to Test mode...

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

ok I wiil give it a go when im in the right area
The Following User Says Thank You to btemtd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th November 2012, 11:16 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Flag Braga
Thanks Meter: 68
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd

your Attachment pics are corrupt cannot see anything

---------- Post added at 09:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------



ok I wiil give it a go when im in the right area

Try now
27th November 2012, 11:21 PM   |  #26  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,415
 
3,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badelhas

Try now

Your screenshots are a bit different... You're connected to standard HSPA+...

Edited:
Have you seen my post on previous page? There you can clearly see what kind of connection you have

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by DjeMBeY; 27th November 2012 at 11:24 PM.
27th November 2012, 11:23 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Flag Braga
Thanks Meter: 68
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djembey

Your screenshots are a bit different... You're connected to standard HSPA+...

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I did the test on a i9300
30th November 2012, 02:42 PM   |  #28  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,415
 
3,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Lightbulb
Last few days I was testing MODEM's.... From tests I've noticed a big differences in DL&Ping....
Fastest MODEM for 3UK is BUALI6!!! Getting on it up to 20Mbps....
Another good one is XXALK2 but can't get more than 15Mbps...
Worst one I've tested was XXALI9 couldn't get more than 10Mbps....
All modems tested in same place with same reception, similar times of day....
Hope it helps a bit
30th November 2012, 05:14 PM   |  #29  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
I tried all modem but the variation seem not much a different in Singapore. Getting about 10mpbs but upload is 30mpbs. I tried on iphone 5 and One XL give me about DL 20 - 40 mbps , UP 30 plus mbps.

I try tethering using the S3 for my laptop and surprising i get 45mbps for DL and 30 mpbs for UL . Is there incompatability with S3 and speed test software ?
30th November 2012, 05:25 PM   |  #30  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,415
 
3,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kollybie

I tried all modem but the variation seem not much a different in Singapore. Getting about 10mpbs but upload is 30mpbs. I tried on iphone 5 and One XL give me about DL 20 - 40 mbps , UP 30 plus mbps.

I try tethering using the S3 for my laptop and surprising i get 45mbps for DL and 30 mpbs for UL . Is there incompatability with S3 and speed test software ?

UL 30Mbps??? That's 4G not 3G...
I've tested modems on 3G in UK.... In Singapore you will have to work out which one is best for your part of the world....
I don't have 4G sim-card to test if there'll be any differences in speed regarding different modem's...

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
benchmark, dc-hspa, galaxy s 3, samsung, speed
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes