Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,466 Members 50,835 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: What's your average DL speed in UK (3G only!!)
Under 10Mbps 8 44.44%
10-20Mbps 7 38.89%
Above 20Mbps 3 16.67%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

[THREAD CLOSED] SpeedTests, Benchmarks (AnTuTu, OpenGL..)

Tip us?
 
btemtd
Old
(Last edited by btemtd; 27th November 2012 at 09:55 PM.)
#21  
btemtd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Aug 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
ahh I see so the best thing you could do is hit the Speed test and then quickly hit the home button and goto phone and dial *#0011# to see what you are on, this is the only way i can see of that will allow you to see what you are doing while your on a test cause there is no option in speedtest for testmode to see live info while your peforming the test. I guess that is ok if you in a strong DC area if your in my area in that 2 -3 seconds it takes you to go to phone and press the test number it could of switched modes lol
IPhone 3GS >> Iphone 4 >> Samsung GS3 I9300 [3g + 1GB ram] >> Samsung GS3 I9305 [4g + 2GB ram] >> Samsung GS4 I9505 LTE >> Samsung GS5 SM-G900i LTE

Best Antutu = 45,745 @ 2688mhz


My Work:

-=PandoriaM=- Rom for SGS3 4G I9305


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
DjeMBeY
Old
#22  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 6,391
Posts: 3,235
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd View Post
ahh I see so the best thing you could do is hit the Speed test and then quickly hit the home button and goto phone and dial *#0011# to see what you are on, this is the only way i can see of that will allow you to see what you are doing while your on a test cause there is no option in speedtest for testmode to see live info while your peforming the test. I guess that is ok if you in a strong DC area if your in my area in that 2 -3 seconds it takes you to go to phone and press the test number it could of switched modes lol
Correct! You can do in this order: dial *#0011# and press home, open and run SpeedTest then hold home and switch to Test mode...

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
<><><><><><><><><><> NOTE: I do NOT respond to any technical Support through PM's. <><><><><><><><><><>
 
Badelhas
Old
(Last edited by Badelhas; 27th November 2012 at 10:15 PM.)
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 720
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Braga
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd View Post
ahh I see so the best thing you could do is hit the Speed test and then quickly hit the home button and goto phone and dial *#0011# to see what you are on, this is the only way i can see of that will allow you to see what you are doing while your on a test cause there is no option in speedtest for testmode to see live info while your peforming the test. I guess that is ok if you in a strong DC area if your in my area in that 2 -3 seconds it takes you to go to phone and press the test number it could of switched modes lol
What I did was enter service mode and then turn data on, it's the same as doing a speed test because email and such will use Internet. Here are my print screens


http://db.tt/JIRtAqfU

http://db.tt/tTtZ0NcQ
 
btemtd
Old
#24  
btemtd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Aug 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
your Attachment pics are corrupt cannot see anything

---------- Post added at 09:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by djembey View Post
Correct! You can do in this order: dial *#0011# and press home, open and run SpeedTest then hold home and switch to Test mode...

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
ok I wiil give it a go when im in the right area
IPhone 3GS >> Iphone 4 >> Samsung GS3 I9300 [3g + 1GB ram] >> Samsung GS3 I9305 [4g + 2GB ram] >> Samsung GS4 I9505 LTE >> Samsung GS5 SM-G900i LTE

Best Antutu = 45,745 @ 2688mhz


My Work:

-=PandoriaM=- Rom for SGS3 4G I9305


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Following User Says Thank You to btemtd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Badelhas
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 720
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Braga
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd View Post
your Attachment pics are corrupt cannot see anything

---------- Post added at 09:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------



ok I wiil give it a go when im in the right area
Try now
 
DjeMBeY
Old
(Last edited by DjeMBeY; 27th November 2012 at 10:24 PM.)
#26  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 6,391
Posts: 3,235
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badelhas View Post
Try now
Your screenshots are a bit different... You're connected to standard HSPA+...

Edited:
Have you seen my post on previous page? There you can clearly see what kind of connection you have

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
<><><><><><><><><><> NOTE: I do NOT respond to any technical Support through PM's. <><><><><><><><><><>
 
Badelhas
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 720
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Braga
Quote:
Originally Posted by djembey View Post
Your screenshots are a bit different... You're connected to standard HSPA+...

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
Sorry, I forgot to mention that I did the test on a i9300
 
DjeMBeY
Old
#28  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 6,391
Posts: 3,235
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Last few days I was testing MODEM's.... From tests I've noticed a big differences in DL&Ping....
Fastest MODEM for 3UK is BUALI6!!! Getting on it up to 20Mbps....
Another good one is XXALK2 but can't get more than 15Mbps...
Worst one I've tested was XXALI9 couldn't get more than 10Mbps....
All modems tested in same place with same reception, similar times of day....
Hope it helps a bit
<><><><><><><><><><> NOTE: I do NOT respond to any technical Support through PM's. <><><><><><><><><><>
 
kollybie
Old
#29  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 42
Join Date: Apr 2009
I tried all modem but the variation seem not much a different in Singapore. Getting about 10mpbs but upload is 30mpbs. I tried on iphone 5 and One XL give me about DL 20 - 40 mbps , UP 30 plus mbps.

I try tethering using the S3 for my laptop and surprising i get 45mbps for DL and 30 mpbs for UL . Is there incompatability with S3 and speed test software ?
 
DjeMBeY
Old
#30  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 6,391
Posts: 3,235
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kollybie View Post
I tried all modem but the variation seem not much a different in Singapore. Getting about 10mpbs but upload is 30mpbs. I tried on iphone 5 and One XL give me about DL 20 - 40 mbps , UP 30 plus mbps.

I try tethering using the S3 for my laptop and surprising i get 45mbps for DL and 30 mpbs for UL . Is there incompatability with S3 and speed test software ?
UL 30Mbps??? That's 4G not 3G...
I've tested modems on 3G in UK.... In Singapore you will have to work out which one is best for your part of the world....
I don't have 4G sim-card to test if there'll be any differences in speed regarding different modem's...
<><><><><><><><><><> NOTE: I do NOT respond to any technical Support through PM's. <><><><><><><><><><>

Tags
benchmark, dc-hspa, galaxy s 3, samsung, speed
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools
Display Modes