FORUMS

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

[Q] Uprade regular S3 to LTE S3?

Thanks Meter: 0
 
By qnz_78, Junior Member on 22nd February 2013, 07:08 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I bricked my phone and it seems that the fix is replacing the motherboard. Since it seems I may be going down that road I was just wondering if it would be possible to upgrade my regular S3 to an LTE S3? What parts would I need and where to source them?

(I know this sounds silly but Im a big car guy and whenever you blow your stock engine its an excuse to get a bigger one hehe, Im just thinking if this is the same with the S3 having a "better" version)

Flame away if this isnt possible
 
 
22nd February 2013, 07:19 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
AW: [Q] Uprade regular S3 to LTE S3?
I think it is possible. But when you change to i9305 you will loose the possibilities of using different and official CM roms or other AOSP roms. Most of the custom firmwares available for i9305 are Samsung based.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
22nd February 2013, 07:25 AM |#3  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,493
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Uprade regular S3 to LTE S3?
Hehe, nice one You've answered you question in last part... " not possible.." There's solution for you: Sell S3 add few ££ and voila

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 07:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:21 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by archibald_schlick

I think it is possible. But when you change to i9305 you will loose the possibilities of using different and official CM roms or other AOSP roms. Most of the custom firmwares available for i9305 are Samsung based.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

Are you mad or something? ??? How you going to add more RAM and LTE radio based on completely different chipset??? Soldering? ?? Hahahahaha.... wake up!!

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to DjeMBeY For This Useful Post: [ View ]
johnbyebye
22nd February 2013, 07:33 AM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djembey

Hehe, nice one You've answered you question in last part... " not possible.." There's solution for you: Sell S3 add few ££ and voila

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 07:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:21 AM ----------



Are you mad or something? ??? How you going to add more RAM and LTE radio based on completely different chipset??? Soldering? ?? Hahahahaha.... wake up!!

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

The OP meant exchanging the motherboard with one from the i9305.

It's possible provided the setup is the same and the screw locations are the same.
22nd February 2013, 07:49 AM |#5  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,493
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Uprade regular S3 to LTE S3?
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbyebye

The OP meant exchanging the motherboard with one from the i9305.

It's possible provided the setup is the same and the screw locations are the same.

Yeah, if screws and connectors on motherboard are the same... I don't think so but not sure tho

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
22nd February 2013, 10:33 AM |#6  
Rekoil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Göteborg
Thanks Meter: 478
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djembey

Yeah, if screws and connectors on motherboard are the same... I don't think so but not sure tho

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

You're not wrong in your assumption. But I think the biggest problem would be fitting it in the case, in order to make phones as thin as the Galaxy S3, enormous efforts go into making sure the motherboard *just* fits in, and assuming the non-LTE models motherboard is exactly the same shape as the LTE model is a little silly in my opinion. In all honesty I think OP would be better off just not buying a new motherboard and instead just buying a new phone. The Nexus 4 comes to mind... yeah you heard me! Flame away!
22nd February 2013, 10:51 AM |#7  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,493
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Uprade regular S3 to LTE S3?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekoil

You're not wrong in your assumption. But I think the biggest problem would be fitting it in the case, in order to make phones as thin as the Galaxy S3, enormous efforts go into making sure the motherboard *just* fits in, and assuming the non-LTE models motherboard is exactly the same shape as the LTE model is a little silly in my opinion. In all honesty I think OP would be better off just not buying a new motherboard and instead just buying a new phone. The Nexus 4 comes to mind... yeah you heard me! Flame away!

This is exactly what I meant, you won't be able to fit i9305 motherboard in i9300 casing, simple as that. There's only one cheaper solution, buy i9305 with broken screen and swap it.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
22nd February 2013, 12:14 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
If you're thinking of literally removing a faulty SoC off your I9300 board and replacing it with the I9305 equivalent:
No. Don't do it. That's the worst idea I've heard in years.

If you're thinking of using an I9305 motherboard as a replacement for your I9300 board:
I started writing a very long post here about why you can't use most of the I9300 internals, but honestly it's neither interesting nor worth the bother to type.

In short, here is a list of things you can use from the I9300:
-Cameras.
-Battery.
-The rear outer plastic case,
-Volume/power switches.
-Proximity sensor.
-Vibration motor.
-Screws, gaskets, etc.
-Assorted minor components which didn't spring to mind.

You can't use the frame, or the antenna. You might be able to re-use the display, screen, and touchscreen controller; but have fun trying to remove the former two from the frame without damaging them or rendering them unusable. Heat guns are out, for a start.

Compared to buying a new I9305, you won't save much money, if any, and it might conceivably cost more to get all these things separately. It would also take you a lot of time, which carries its own cost.

Believe it or not, portable electronic devices bear little resemblance to cars.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rhadamanthus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
johnbyebye
22nd February 2013, 07:07 PM |#9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Screw assignments and everything else are exactly the same.

I9300




I9305

22nd February 2013, 08:43 PM |#10  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,493
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Uprade regular S3 to LTE S3?
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbyebye

Screw assignments and

Seriously? ??? You won't drop it??? If those 2 look exactly same then you must be blind...... Screws are not going to make it work. ....

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by DjeMBeY; 22nd February 2013 at 08:46 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes