Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 128GB MicroSD shipping in 2-3 weeks

OP PPCGuy21

26th February 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Hello,
Would the new 128GB MicroSD work on the S3 or would there need to be a software mod or will it not work at all due to hardware limitations?

not sure if the link will post but its available on amazon for $119...
26th February 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #2  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 190
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
The gs3 microsd slot only works with a max of 64 gb. U shld have known when u looked at the specs. At least tat is wat Samsung said.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
27th February 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #3  
NorthernNoel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Although I can't guarantee it I would guess it works. My HTC Desire spec said that it only supported up to 32GB but I used a 64GB card fine in it. When it was released 32GB was the largest card available. Same with the S3 in that the 64GB card was the largest at the time.
27th February 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Theorically could work, as sometimes the limitation is more of the format of the card. For example, I use a 64 GB card in my s3 without problem, and, in other devices, I have read about the format of the card to change this.

For example, the nintendo 3DS can use an SD card of maximum 32 GB, but if you have an sd of 64 GB, but format it as fat 32, you are able to use it.

The only problem is that you'll need a specific tool, if you are using windows, to format cards large than 32GB to use Fat32
27th February 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #5  
RazorMC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SiN CiTY
Thanks Meter: 67
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
It might work. I've seen cheap chinese phones support 32gb so I hope a 128gb should be no problem for the S3. But for $119, it's better (and cheaper) not to risk it.


~ RazorMC
27th February 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernNoel

Although I can't guarantee it I would guess it works. My HTC Desire spec said that it only supported up to 32GB but I used a 64GB card fine in it. When it was released 32GB was the largest card available. Same with the S3 in that the 64GB card was the largest at the time.

I went ahead and ordered it through amazon. I'll give you guys a status should I receive one before anyone else reports back...
28th February 2014, 12:28 PM   |  #7  
hierarchy666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 207
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Nice. You just need to format it to fat32

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
28th February 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
64GB working in Xperia SP officially supporting 32GB. I just let the phone format it. Hope it works for you!
Last edited by mikkityk; 28th February 2014 at 06:59 PM.
1st March 2014, 05:19 PM   |  #9  
shailpancholi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 78
 
695 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Why waste in 128gb while u can buy 1-2TB hardisk for same amount

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
17th March 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
128GB MicroSD is working on the SIII. Its seeing 119GB though but that will due...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes