Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,708 Members 54,268 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] cant fully boot into phone

Tip us?
 
gbswales
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jun 2012
Question [Q] cant fully boot into phone

I have a Samsung Galaxy s3 which I successfully rooted over a year ago though I never bothered with a custom rom. I have now purchased a note 3 so in preparation for selling the S3 I did a factory reset through Settings to clear out all my apps, data and personal information. That all went well and the device booted back into the normal system a couple of times (I didn't check to see if root had been maintained or not) This weekend I got it out to sell it only to find that it boots through the first part of the routine with the Samsung moving logo but then sticks on the static SAMSUNG screen and will not go further.

I am able to boot into TWRP so would I be able to download a stock rom from somewhere, insert a micro sd card with the stock rom on it and recover through TWRP? Alternatively I do have an old full back up stored on my computer - I could transfer this to the micro sd and restore this through twrp - I can see this was made through twrm as the openrecovery-twrp-2.3.1.0-i9300.tar.md5 is stored with it. Of course if this works I would still need to perform a reset to get rid of all the personal data etc so could end up in the same situation later.

What recommendations do you helpful guys have?
The Following User Says Thank You to gbswales For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
VerlyAnanda
Old
#2  
VerlyAnanda's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Cimahi
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbswales View Post
I have a Samsung Galaxy s3 which I successfully rooted over a year ago though I never bothered with a custom rom. I have now purchased a note 3 so in preparation for selling the S3 I did a factory reset through Settings to clear out all my apps, data and personal information. That all went well and the device booted back into the normal system a couple of times (I didn't check to see if root had been maintained or not) This weekend I got it out to sell it only to find that it boots through the first part of the routine with the Samsung moving logo but then sticks on the static SAMSUNG screen and will not go further.

I am able to boot into TWRP so would I be able to download a stock rom from somewhere, insert a micro sd card with the stock rom on it and recover through TWRP? Alternatively I do have an old full back up stored on my computer - I could transfer this to the micro sd and restore this through twrp - I can see this was made through twrm as the openrecovery-twrp-2.3.1.0-i9300.tar.md5 is stored with it. Of course if this works I would still need to perform a reset to get rid of all the personal data etc so could end up in the same situation later.

What recommendations do you helpful guys have?
try to some firmware dude
u have usb jig? use it to reset u binary
and flash again with odin
if u have backup in cwm u can restore so Do it
 
boomboomer
Old
#3  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 672
Posts: 2,995
Join Date: Jun 2010
As you are going to sell it then follow the guide in general forum, stickies to return to stock. Factory reset before you boot the fresh firmware.
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
gbswales
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jun 2012
Question further

Quote:
Originally Posted by VerlyAnanda View Post
try to some firmware dude
u have usb jig? use it to reset u binary
and flash again with odin
if u have backup in cwm u can restore so Do it
I don't have a usb jig whatever that is
I have an old back up on my computer which I can copy to an external SD card to put in the phone
I can then try using TWRP (I have this not CWM) to try restore the back up
This may work I can only try it - however I will still be in the position of needing to do the reset to clear all my data and put the phone back into "new" state and am concerned this may cause the problem again

Is this the best plan? I suppose once I get it working I can use ODIN to flash a stock rom
The problem is I understood all this a year ago when I rooted it but its all a little vague to me now as I decided not to do more than root the phone so I could back it up
 
gbswales
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default formatting cache solved the problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbswales View Post
I don't have a usb jig whatever that is
I have an old back up on my computer which I can copy to an external SD card to put in the phone
I can then try using TWRP (I have this not CWM) to try restore the back up
This may work I can only try it - however I will still be in the position of needing to do the reset to clear all my data and put the phone back into "new" state and am concerned this may cause the problem again

Is this the best plan? I suppose once I get it working I can use ODIN to flash a stock rom
The problem is I understood all this a year ago when I rooted it but its all a little vague to me now as I decided not to do more than root the phone so I could back it up
I read someone had the same problem and just cleared the cache - so went into Team Win wiped cache and it restarted - guess I was looking for a complicated solution to something simple!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes