Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,404 Members 48,254 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] brick? Galaxy S3

Tip us?
 
ORBITH
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default [Q] brick? Galaxy S3

Hi everyone , I need your help.

This morning I rebooted the phone itself and got stuck on the boot logo Galaxy SIII . I use CM 11, one of the last nightly. I can get into CWM ( v.6.0.4.3 ) and into DOWNLOAD mode.

After reboot CWM writes :

E: Can not mount / cache / recovery / command
E: Can not mount / cache / recovery / log
E: Can not open / cache / recovery / log
E: Can not mount / cache / recovery / last_log
E: Can not open / cache / recovery / last_log

I tried to wipe data / factory reset + wipe cache + wipe Dalvik and nothing. I tried to install a new rom via CWM nothing. Installation via ODIN also see nothing = FAIL screen . I tried original ROM I9300XXUGMJ9_I9300VFGGMJ5_I9300BUUGMJ3_HOME.tar.md 5



Odin writes :

<ID:0/007> Added !
<OSM> Enter CS for MD5 ..
<OSM> Check MD5 .. Do not unplug the cable ..
<OSM> Please wait ..
<OSM> I9300XXUGMJ9_I9300VFGGMJ5_I9300BUUGMJ3_HOME.tar.md 5 is valid .
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully ..
<OSM> Leave CS ..
<ID:0/007> Odin v.3 engine (ID : 7 ) ..
<ID:0/007> File analysis ..
<ID:0/007> SetupConnection ..
<ID:0/007> Initialzation ..
<ID:0/007> Get PIT for mapping ..
<ID:0/007> Firmware update start ..
<ID:0/007> boot.img
<ID:0/007> NAND Write Start !
<ID:0/007>
<ID:0/007> Complete ( Write) operation failed .
<OSM> All threads completed. ( succeed 0 / failed 1 )

Please any advice.
 
boomboomer
Old
#2  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 690
Posts: 3,097
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not good, sounds like nand failure. Try the rescue firmware in general forum, follow the instructions exactly as it includes a pit file.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
ORBITH
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2010
I use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...35&postcount=6 RESCUE FIRMWARE SGSIII I9300, but it did not help.

Odin show this:

 
boomboomer
Old
#4  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 690
Posts: 3,097
Join Date: Jun 2010
Sorry, new motherboard required. Warranty should cover if still available and flash counter is zero.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
ORBITH
Old
(Last edited by ORBITH; 27th April 2014 at 06:46 AM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer View Post
Sorry, new motherboard required. Warranty should cover if still available and flash counter is zero.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Warranty is still valid, but my counter flash is 13. How it reset in this case?
 
boomboomer
Old
#6  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 690
Posts: 3,097
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not possible in this case, triangle away runs from inside the rom.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
ORBITH
Old
(Last edited by ORBITH; 28th April 2014 at 07:23 AM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2010
And via ADB? I find this:

Here are the commands to reset the flash counter.

adb shell
su
echo -n '\x00' | dd obs=1 count=1 seek=4193796 of=/dev/block/mmcblk0

The '\x00' portion tells it to reset to to 0.


I try this via ADB and dont work...

 
Benko111
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 75
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Berlin

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ORBITH View Post
And via ADB? I find this:

Here are the commands to reset the flash counter.

adb shell
su
echo -n '\x00' | dd obs=1 count=1 seek=4193796 of=/dev/block/mmcblk0

The '\x00' portion tells it to reset to to 0.


I try this via ADB and dont work...

Of course it doesn't since you have no working ROM with USB debugging enabled. Yesterday I learned that philz recovery provides ADB access from recovery, try to flash that one: http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...touch-t2002953

Also try to flash stock recovery and perform format /data/ and factory reset. Sometimes stock recovery manages to fix this issue.
***Contact me for your localization or editorial needs. I do high quality german app and marketing info translations.***

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes