5,606,297 Members 32,872 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cell Standby issue - please sign "petition" for Samsung

Tip us?
 
rootSU
Old
(Last edited by rootSU; 26th June 2012 at 12:18 PM.)
#1  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7520
Posts: 18,136
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Default Cell Standby issue - please sign "petition" for Samsung

Hi everyone,

I appreciate that there are threads on this already but this is different.

I have created a petition because Samsung support have not acknowledged that there is an issue. There recommendation was to "Factory reset".

It has been identified by members of the forum that the mA in battery stats used to calculate Cell Standby % has been set ridiculously high.

Please see explanation here.

Rooted users can fix this by flashing more realistic values here



I would like everyone who has the issue to sign the petition, so we can send it to Samsung and prove how much we like this fixed.

Link is here:

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/s...standby-issue/

Moderators, please do not merge / delete. Could this sticky please?
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Minoza
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 134
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Zagreb
I wrote this in the other thread but I'll leave it here as well.
Quote:
Do you guys realize at all how this works?

I mean, cell standby, percent shown means how much is used of the current % usage... If there is 50% percent of battery used, and 30% by cell standby, that means that 30% out of that 50% in total was used by cell standby, not that cell standby used 30% of battery, are you even aware of that?

If your phone's screen is off most of time, it is normal that the cell standby will be high in this list then. That doesn't mean it drains your battery it just shows how much of used battery was used for cell standby...
 
mwatson
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 608
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minoza View Post
I wrote this in the other thread but I'll leave it here as well.
Yeah makes perfect sense. Also goes to show how efficient the screen is compared to other phones including the sgs2. I think the sluggish touch wiz with all the screen redrawing is more of an issue.
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7520
Posts: 18,136
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minoza View Post
I wrote this in the other thread but I'll leave it here as well.

Yes we are aware of how it works. Its simple maths.

The issue is as many of us see it, even with screen on times of 2 hours +, the cell standby is massively high and sometimes more than screen on time. This is NOT right!
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
sxi200
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 445
Posts: 1,497
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne
Turn off wifi and data and battery loses 1% every hour or 2. With wifi & or data on the phone loses about 2-3% every hour.

The reception radio isn't the problem.

Most likely some background syncing happening. I've turned all types of background syncing but drain persists.

Could just be that having wifi or data on chews up battery, ie hardware.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
 
matttye
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 282
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minoza View Post
I wrote this in the other thread but I'll leave it here as well.
Thank you captain obvious :P

It's the fact that cell standby often tops the battery usage list even when the screen has been on for like 2.5 hours. It was never this high in the S2 or other Android phones.

Somebody suggested it could be a change in the way cell standby is reported, which is a possibility, but it would be helpful if Samsung would confirm or deny that.
 
rootSU
Old
#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7520
Posts: 18,136
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by matttye View Post
but it would be helpful if Samsung would confirm or deny that.

Precisely.

In my email to them, I asked them to confirm if it was reporting.
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
Minoza
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 134
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Zagreb
Quote:
Originally Posted by matttye View Post
Thank you captain obvious :P

It's the fact that cell standby often tops the battery usage list even when the screen has been on for like 2.5 hours. It was never this high in the S2 or other Android phones.

Somebody suggested it could be a change in the way cell standby is reported, which is a possibility, but it would be helpful if Samsung would confirm or deny that.
I see. Yeah, sorry for being obvious then, I just had a feel that some folks don't get it and wanted to explain it. I don't have battery drain issue. But I don't have wifi and 3g on all the time though.
 
rootSU
Old
#9  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7520
Posts: 18,136
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minoza View Post
I see. Yeah, sorry for being obvious then, I just had a feel that some folks don't get it and wanted to explain it. I don't have battery drain issue. But I don't have wifi and 3g on all the time though.

Its ok. We know that some people dont understand how it works. I wish it was just that this time
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
matttye
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 282
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Precisely.

In my email to them, I asked them to confirm if it was reporting.
Do you have a static IP set up on your network at home?

Something I just realised is that my battery reported "Wi-Fi" usage when I was using DHCP, but it doesn't report Wi-Fi now that I have a static IP set up.

I'm going to change it back to use DHCP and see if that makes a difference. It could be that Wi-Fi is being reported under cell standby usage for some reason.

Although... that doesn't explain why cell standby is so high while I'm at work and not connected to Wi-Fi!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minoza View Post
I see. Yeah, sorry for being obvious then, I just had a feel that some folks don't get it and wanted to explain it. I don't have battery drain issue. But I don't have wifi and 3g on all the time though.
Sorry, your "do you guys know at all how this works?" comment came across as a little condescending but you probably didn't mean it to be

The issue is basically that cell standby is using a lot more on this phone than on any others, but it could be a reporting issue. We're trying to figure out what's causing it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes