Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,293 Members 38,989 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CM 11 EXPERIMENTAL NiGHTLY - Error status 7

Tip us?

Steelbear
Old
(Last edited by Steelbear; 8th January 2014 at 08:27 AM.) Reason: It's solved
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Question [Q] CM 11 EXPERIMENTAL NiGHTLY - Error status 7

------------- SOLVED! --------------

Hello all,

First of all I want to say I'm pretty new to flashing ROMs etc.

Currently I'm at stock 4.3 Jellybean and I want to flash my SGS3 to the new CM 11 ROM.
I rooted my phone following this tutorial: vvvvvv.telefoonrooten.nl/samsung/samsung-galaxy-s3-root/ (sorry if its in Dutch, but it uses the CF-Root-SGS3-v6.3 and Odin).

After I rooted I copied both the CM11 ROM and GAPPS to my external SD, I went to recovery and tried to install the new custom ROM but I got an error (status 7) and it was aborted.

Also if I try to reboot it won't boot normally as it should be but it goes back to recovery mode automatically...
I fixed to get back to Jellybean by flashing the stock rom (unrooting?) it via Odin.

Anyone else got the exact same problem as I do and knows a solution to be able to flash CM 11?

Thanks in advance,

Steelbear

Darkened_Sky
Old
Thanks Meter 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steelbear View Post
Anyone else got the exact same problem as I do and knows a solution to be able to flash CM 11?
please read the thirst post in a rom/kernel/whatever thread. and maybe if you havent done it already you should also read the stickies in general section.

Quote:
FAQ (Read before post !!)
- If you obtain Error 7 when you tried to install ROM in CWM or TWRP
Install the latest version of CMW or TWRP
BTW latest philz touch recovery works too

florinlita
Old
Thanks Meter 1