LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

CM11 Problems

OP Smithy5995

2nd February 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I've just this minute flashed the latest CM11 zip file on my SIII through the CM update in the settings and I was surprised to see that it was relatively slower than other updates and there was also a lot of screen tearing and juttering when going from app to app and scrolling down the screen.
Anyway, the problem occurred when I tried going to back to an older version, it successfully installed the older version without a hitch but the problem is that the home screen UI crashes every time I press the home button. I can do everything else on my phone, I can pull down the notification pane and gain access to all the tiles there and if I get a facebook notification for example, I can load up facebook but as soon as I press the home button I get a message saying 'Unfortunately, Trebuchet has stopped.'
I know there are always problems when reverting back to a previous version but I was wondering if there would be an easy way to fix this without having to factory reset my phone.

EDIT - I just updated back to the latest version and the home screen UI is back but I don't really want to be on this version as it is laggy so if there's a way to use an older version without the home screen error then I'm all ears.

As you can see with the screenshot, I have the settings open which I opened through the tiles pane but trying to press the home button will result in that message popping up every time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-02-02-14-35-04.png
Views:	1835
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	2554697  
Last edited by Smithy5995; 2nd February 2014 at 04:09 PM.
2nd February 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #2  
Moster2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,602
 
1,680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithy5995

I've just this minute flashed the latest CM11 zip file on my SIII through the CM update in the settings and I was surprised to see that it was relatively slower than other updates and there was also a lot of screen tearing and juttering when going from app to app and scrolling down the screen.
Anyway, the problem occurred when I tried going to back to an older version, it successfully installed the older version without a hitch but the problem is that the home screen UI crashes every time I press the home button. I can do everything else on my phone, I can pull down the notification pane and gain access to all the tiles there and if I get a facebook notification for example, I can load up facebook but as soon as I press the home button I get a message saying 'Unfortunately, Trebuchet has stopped.'
I know there are always problems when reverting back to a previous version but I was wondering if there would be an easy way to fix this without having to factory reset my phone.

EDIT - I just updated back to the latest version and the home screen UI is back but I don't really want to be on this version as it is laggy so if there's a way to use an older version without the home screen error then I'm all ears.

As you can see with the screenshot, I have the settings open which I opened through the tiles pane but trying to press the home button will result in that message popping up every time.

Just go back to a nightly where it didnt crash and you have a smooth UI. There is no problem with that. Dirty flashing works in both directions
2nd February 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moster2

Just go back to a nightly where it didnt crash and you have a smooth UI. There is no problem with that. Dirty flashing works in both directions

That what I did do. I was using cm-11-20140131 then I updated to cm-11-20140202 which was laggy so I reverted back to cm-11-20140131 which was working before the update and this is where I encountered the home screen UI crash
2nd February 2014, 04:24 PM   |  #4  
Moster2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,602
 
1,680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithy5995

That what I did do. I was using cm-11-20140131 then I updated to cm-11-20140202 which was laggy so I reverted back to cm-11-20140131 which was working before the update and this is where I encountered the home screen UI crash

Try another nightly. If you can open the settings, go to apps and look for the launcher. Clear its data and cache then

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Moster2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moster2

Try another nightly. If you can open the settings, go to apps and look for the launcher. Clear its data and cache then

Clearing the date and cache actually worked thanks although now I have to put all my apps back on the screen XD
2nd February 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Im having exact same problem, I can access to apps from my lock screen but when I go to homescreen, thats when "Unfortunately, Trebuchet has stopped"... I went to recovery mode to wipe cache partition and wipe dalvik cache and same error and tried to reflash old nightly and nothing is working. I cant access to setting from my homescreen.. any other ideas?
2nd February 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 4
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keegygti

Im having exact same problem, I can access to apps from my lock screen but when I go to homescreen, thats when "Unfortunately, Trebuchet has stopped"... I went to recovery mode to wipe cache partition and wipe dalvik cache and same error and tried to reflash old nightly and nothing is working. I cant access to setting from my homescreen.. any other ideas?

Same, with my GS4. Tried going back a few nightlies and back to the M release, but Trebuchet (or Launcher3) keep crashing even after wiping caches. I'm actually looking under Settings > Apps > All and don't see Launcher/Trebuchet anywhere...
Last edited by hugehead83; 2nd February 2014 at 09:17 PM.
2nd February 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugehead83

Same, with my GS4. Tried going back a few nightlies and back to the M release, but Trebuchet (or Launcher3) keep crashing even after wiping caches. I'm actually looking under Settings > Apps > All and don't see Launcher/Trebuchet anywhere...

I got it figured out, try to swipe notification bar down From messaging or even on homescreen and then go to settings with other icons and then when your in settings go to apps then all apps and go to trebuchet app info and clear out data and that should work!!! I fixed mine
The Following User Says Thank You to keegygti For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 09:26 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 4
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keegygti

I got it figured out, try to swipe notification bar down From messaging or even on homescreen and then go to settings with other icons and then when your in settings go to apps then all apps and go to trebuchet app info and clear out data and that should work!!! I fixed mine

Thanks--that did it! Trebuchet wasn't there for a while, but then it surfaced... or I'm blind
8th April 2014, 11:24 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugehead83

Thanks--that did it! Trebuchet wasn't there for a while, but then it surfaced... or I'm blind

This worked for me: Clearing data and cache


Pull down power menu and select settings

Method 1: Clearing data and cache
Go to system settings >> Apps>>Open “All” tab>>Select Trebuchet
Click Force Close>>Clear data and Clear cache of Trebuchet
Restart the phone

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes