Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[Q] Can I delete the option "wipe data/factory reset"?

OP Rrules

13th April 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi, I just want to know if there's a way to remove this option from CWM, just because if someday my phone is stolen (highly likely) I don't want the thief to recover the software that easy. As a last resource I would rather to make impossible to do the hard reset. I would love tu know if you have some other ideas .
Thanks in advance.
13th April 2014, 06:18 AM   |  #2  
jojohnson250's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rrules

Hi, I just want to know if there's a way to remove this option from CWM, just because if someday my phone is stolen (highly likely) I don't want the thief to recover the software that easy. As a last resource I would rather to make impossible to do the hard reset. I would love tu know if you have some other ideas .
Thanks in advance.

Can you not use sim lock????

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
13th April 2014, 06:25 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojohnson250

Can you not use sim lock????

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

This will remain even with the factory reset?
13th April 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #4  
jojohnson250's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I am pretty sure because a thief will want to change sim so you can't track him down but the phone is locked to your sim and will require your password to insert a new sim so yeah I reckon it will only way to be sure is to test it out yourself

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to jojohnson250 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th April 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #5  
Andr3y29's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buzau
Thanks Meter: 151
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
If the thief is smart enough to reboot into recovery and Factory Reset, then he is smart enough to reboot into Download Mode and flash another recovery (TWRP, Philz...) that has activated the Factory Reset
The Following User Says Thank You to Andr3y29 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th April 2014, 12:51 PM   |  #6  
Jinks69's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Lyon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
13th April 2014, 10:23 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojohnson250

I am pretty sure because a thief will want to change sim so you can't track him down but the phone is locked to your sim and will require your password to insert a new sim so yeah I reckon it will only way to be sure is to test it out yourself

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

even so, I was searching and there are ways to undo that... for example: http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...nlock-t1683348 so I don't think thats the best answer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andr3y29

If the thief is smart enough to reboot into recovery and Factory Reset, then he is smart enough to reboot into Download Mode and flash another recovery (TWRP, Philz...) that has activated the Factory Reset

Good point, I'm new at this so I did'nt think about that.

So far the only thing that comes to my mind is to glue the sim I really hope there can be some software solution...
15th April 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #8  
jojohnson250's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rrules

even so, I was searching and there are ways to undo that... for example: http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...nlock-t1683348 so I don't think thats the best answer




Good point, I'm new at this so I did'nt think about that.

So far the only thing that comes to my mind is to glue the sim I really hope there can be some software solution...

The link you posted was to unlock a locked phone from a network so all other sim can be used and not the one provided with the phone. What I suggested was to go to settings then more then security and set up sim lock, this means if anyone changes the sim on your phone it will require a password, Try it out yourself!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes