Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,353 Members 40,383 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Which variant is my S3?

Tip us?
 
princesohail
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] Which variant is my S3?

Hi everyone.
I know it is very silly question but i am very confused.
I bought a S3 with 2GB RAM and LTE. I am not sure that it is i9305 or SHV210s.
SHV210s variant has an antenna but my cell does not have it, so i thought it is i9305 but when i go to download mode (using volume down+home+power keys) it shows its model as SHV210s.
how can i be sure about my cell's variant because i want to install custom ROM on it???
 
amirTor
Old
#2  
amirTor's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 402
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by princesohail View Post
Hi everyone.
I know it is very silly question but i am very confused.
I bought a S3 with 2GB RAM and LTE. I am not sure that it is i9305 or SHV210s.
SHV210s variant has an antenna but my cell does not have it, so i thought it is i9305 but when i go to download mode (using volume down+home+power keys) it shows its model as SHV210s.
how can i be sure about my cell's variant because i want to install custom ROM on it???
You should post it in I9305 thread.
Anyway, check the sticker beneath the battery + settings->about phone -> model number

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
 
princesohail
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
i think sticker is fake because it says i9300.
stock or custom rom of i9300 was installed in it when i purchased,
in settings->about phone -> model number was also showing as i9300,
then i installed stock rom of shv210s (stock rom of i9300 and i9305 was failed to install) ,now it is showing shv210s.
 
amirTor
Old
#4  
amirTor's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 402
Join Date: Jan 2014
Run cpu-z app and upload its screenshots

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
 
JJEgan
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,420
Posts: 23,042
Join Date: Oct 2010
See your identical post .
 
princesohail
Old
(Last edited by princesohail; 1st March 2014 at 11:07 AM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Run cpu-z app and upload its screenshots
screenshots are here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-01-15-37-59[1].png
Views:	51
Size:	136.0 KB
ID:	2607286   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-01-15-38-08[1].png
Views:	51
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	2607287  
 
princesohail
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Actually i want to install a custom ROM based on 4.4.2, but when i googled i found that every model/firmware has its own custom ROM.
if there is any method to install custom ROM without knowing model/firmware, then please suggest me.
 
JJEgan
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,420
Posts: 23,042
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by princesohail View Post
Actually i want to install a custom ROM based on 4.4.2, but when i googled i found that every model/firmware has its own custom ROM.
if there is any method to install custom ROM without knowing model/firmware, then please suggest me.

No of course not wrong rom can totally brick your phone with no recovery .
You should revert to stock firmware and read the faqs and guides before any custom roms before your ignorance gives you a phone that requires a new motherboard .
 
princesohail
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJEgan View Post
No of course not wrong rom can totally brick your phone with no recovery .
You should revert to stock firmware and read the faqs and guides before any custom roms before your ignorance gives you a phone that requires a new motherboard .
stock rom of sgh210s (installed on my cell) is annoying. too much unusable apps. most annoying thing is that it limits sms to only 160 alphabits/digits, when it exceeds sms is converted to MMS. is there any solution of this?
 
amirTor
Old
#10  
amirTor's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 402
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by princesohail View Post
stock rom of sgh210s (installed on my cell) is annoying. too much unusable apps. most annoying thing is that it limits sms to only 160 alphabits/digits, when it exceeds sms is converted to MMS. is there any solution of this?
Root the stock ver, install Xposed framework & use wanamXposed

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to amirTor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes