Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

[Q] Entered *#197328640# but no UMTS menu

OP abyss1957

14th February 2014, 01:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Some time ago I was able to downgrade my S3 i9300 from Claro to 4.1.1. I did this in order to unlock the phone, and based on what I read here and on the web I needed 4.1.1 in order to get the menu that unlocks the cell. However after doing all the instructions and getting the cell rooted when I type the code *#197328640# I only get the same menu that was there when I had the 4.1.2 version on the cell, and of course it will not let me unlock the phone.
Is there any other way, like modifying some file or something like that, which could help unlock it? I am not afraid of having to use and editor to mess around with files. Any help will be appreciated.
16th February 2014, 08:17 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Iasi-Cotnari
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abyss1957

Some time ago I was able to downgrade my S3 i9300 from Claro to 4.1.1. I did this in order to unlock the phone, and based on what I read here and on the web I needed 4.1.1 in order to get the menu that unlocks the cell. However after doing all the instructions and getting the cell rooted when I type the code *#197328640# I only get the same menu that was there when I had the 4.1.2 version on the cell, and of course it will not let me unlock the phone.
Is there any other way, like modifying some file or something like that, which could help unlock it? I am not afraid of having to use and editor to mess around with files. Any help will be appreciated.

type the code, go to 1.debug screen, then 8.phone control, and then 7.network lock. i'm currently on 4.1.2 (with mg4 modem), and i can't get past 7.network lock (it says menu not exist). please let me know if on 4.1.1 you are able to get past 7.network lock and unlock the phone, cause i want to downgrade too on 4.1.1 for unlocking.
18th February 2014, 11:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I get the same thing you are getting with 4.1.2, my stayed as it was on 4.1.2. The downgrade did not work.
18th February 2014, 04:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Iasi-Cotnari
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abyss1957

I get the same thing you are getting with 4.1.2, my stayed as it was on 4.1.2. The downgrade did not work.

well, i gave up and asked a guy with z3x box to unlock it for 11 . now i can flash any rom i want and still be unlocked, as long as the modem is above mg4 :P
18th February 2014, 05:37 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Question Second try
Sorry you gave up I am still fighting with mine. I found this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1737449
posted by Faryaab back in June 2012 and it's got to builds on the page that were supposed to be previous builds for 4.1.1. What I would like to know if someone is monitoring this is if those builds are still working so that I can download and experiment with them to see if I finally get the menu to unlock. Any help will be welcomed.
18th February 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Iasi-Cotnari
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abyss1957

Sorry you gave up I am still fighting with mine. I found this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1737449
posted by Faryaab back in June 2012 and it's got to builds on the page that were supposed to be previous builds for 4.1.1. What I would like to know if someone is monitoring this is if those builds are still working so that I can download and experiment with them to see if I finally get the menu to unlock. Any help will be welcomed.

well, why dont you pay a few dollars and unlock it? i can put you through the guy that helped me. you need a decent pc and a good internet connection.
19th February 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Iasi-Cotnari
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
It seems that there is a way to unlock 4.3, use this tutorial that @.NetRolller 3D sent to me. Firstly, i think you need to update to 4.3, then follow the steps:

Quote:


Hi!

Follow this tutorial:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1718665

Skip steps 9-12 (including the reboot step - important! Do NOT reboot mid-unlock, or you will have to start over!)
Instead, execute (at a Unix shell) the command "(cat nv_data.bin; echo -n Samsung_Android_RIL) | md5sum" on the NEW (modified) nv_data.bin to get the md5 value to use in step 14.

Should work with 4.3 or even KitKat when it's released, unless Samsung fundamentally changes the way SIM locking works on this phone. Samsung closed down the original Voodoo unlock in an update by removing the "correct" MD5 printout from the log error messages, but the signature scheme is unchanged, and trivially easy to overcome once you know the magic constant "Samsung_Android_RIL" appended to the end of nv_data.bin.

Please let me know if it works for you so we can make a sticky topic for people who want to unlock 4.3.
20th February 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Only one thing
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkmage93

It seems that there is a way to unlock 4.3, use this tutorial that @.NetRolller 3D sent to me. Firstly, i think you need to update to 4.3, then follow the steps:



Please let me know if it works for you so we can make a sticky topic for people who want to unlock 4.3.

Thanks darkmage93 for this link. Like the modified instructions say: "Instead, execute (at a Unix shell) the command "(cat nv_data.bin; echo -n Samsung_Android_RIL) | md5sum" on the NEW (modified) nv_data.bin to get the md5 value to use in step 14." This is the only thing I do not know how to do. I never worked with Unix, and if it is done with in the phone I still don't know. The only funny thing is when I looked at the nv_data.bin it already had the number changed to 00. I will look some more and may finally go with the paying option.
20th February 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Iasi-Cotnari
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abyss1957

Thanks darkmage93 for this link. Like the modified instructions say: "Instead, execute (at a Unix shell) the command "(cat nv_data.bin; echo -n Samsung_Android_RIL) | md5sum" on the NEW (modified) nv_data.bin to get the md5 value to use in step 14." This is the only thing I do not know how to do. I never worked with Unix, and if it is done with in the phone I still don't know. The only funny thing is when I looked at the nv_data.bin it already had the number changed to 00. I will look some more and may finally go with the paying option.

i don't know either how to use unix, but i could've find out how if i weren't unlocked already. i feel sad now that i didn't recieved NetRoller's PM earlier maybe this tutorial works... so do some researching and see what you can do.
13th March 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Any progress for unlocking S3 on MG4+ Baseband?
Hi
I have just bought a 2nd hand Galaxy S3, it's looked and on Android 4.3
I just downgraded to 4.1.2 and tried GalaxySimUnlock.apk but no success ( it says that the current EFS is not supported)
I am wondering if there is any solution for unlocking i9300 with EFS v2 (mg4+)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes