Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

[Q] Galaxy S3 stuck at boot. Failed to mount Data, failed to mount EFS

OP TCUENGR

18th August 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Hello, I have a Galaxy S3 (GT-I9300) phone that is not feeling so well.

On startup it freezes indefinitely on the Samsung boot logo.
I am able to get into recovery and download mode.
In recovery I get errors - unable to mount Data, and unable to mount EFS.

The phone is recognized by the computer, both in Kies and Odin so flashing is possible.

It is not rooted and completely stock. Problem is that I don't know what version firmware it had.

There is unbacked information on the phone I'd like to recover.

What I've tried: Within Kies>Firmware upgrade and initialization (second option under tools) I enter the model number and then the serial, but I just get a message along the lines of "please check your model" (I entered GT-I9300).

The phone is generic international version from 2012, untouched (version-wise) since.


I very much appreciate any idea that might fix this. How can I find the right firmware? will it erase my memory? how can I restore the EFS partition?
18th August 2014, 09:02 PM   |  #2  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Stock Rom
Hey there. Creat a free account on the Sammobile Website. Than you can download this file from here:
HTML Code:
http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=33625
Flash it through odin as PDA. Should work fine
18th August 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkkg1994

Hey there. Creat a free account on the Sammobile Website. Than you can download this file from here:


Flash it through odin as PDA. Should work fine


Will it work even though it is intended for Android 4.3? The phone originally came with 3.0 or 3.1

Also I believe flashing firmware will not fix EFS?
Last edited by TCUENGR; 18th August 2014 at 09:20 PM.
18th August 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #4  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Jup
Yes it does. It comes with 4.0.4 out of the box And it will work
19th August 2014, 06:12 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkkg1994

Yes it does. It comes with 4.0.4 out of the box And it will work

YES! the new firmware fixed it completely. It is a bit slow, but alas that's probably the phone itself.

To anyone looking in the future:
This problem was caused by a faulty battery - the phone would turn off while working all the time, and eventually it corrupted the data and efs partitions. To my luck upgrading to new firmware fixed the problem.

Thank you.
19th August 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #6  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCUENGR

YES! the new firmware fixed it completely. It is a bit slow, but alas that's probably the phone itself.

To anyone looking in the future:
This problem was caused by a faulty battery - the phone would turn off while working all the time, and eventually it corrupted the data and efs partitions. To my luck upgrading to new firmware fixed the problem.

Thank you.

No Problem man. Your welcome
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes