FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

My Galaxy s3 won't connect to wifi!!!

17th July 2012, 11:19 PM |#1  
valerio.tosti's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bissen
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Hello to all!!!! i have a strange problem, since i flashed omega 9 i have a big problem to connect to an wifi network! It regognizes the wifi but if i want connect to it he says authentification error!!!! i've tried everything!! i have tried to flash an other rom with factory reset but nothing he recognize my wifi but won't connect to it! i have tried different kernels too!
I have tried several wifi networks!!! it connects only if i am near the router(+-5meters)

please help me!!!
 
 
17th July 2012, 11:37 PM |#2  
mwatson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
More info required..Is it a bt homehub?
17th July 2012, 11:42 PM |#3  
valerio.tosti's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bissen
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwatson

More info required..Is it a bt homehub?

i live in luxembourg and my router is a fritzbox!!!!! but it happens not only on my wifi network!!! by other wifi access points too!!!
18th July 2012, 10:16 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
call this number to get into service mode

*#0011#

Press your menu button and select wifi at the bottom

turn off wifi powersaving mode

should fix it
18th July 2012, 12:19 PM |#5  
valerio.tosti's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bissen
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBoUnCiNX

call this number to get into service mode

*#0011#

Press your menu button and select wifi at the bottom

turn off wifi powersaving mode

should fix it

nope it doesn't fix it
18th July 2012, 12:56 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
<delete>
Last edited by d4fseeker; 18th July 2012 at 12:59 PM.
18th July 2012, 01:01 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 451
 
More
I had the same problem when I switched from a 16gb to a 32gb version.

I restored a backup but couldn't connect to wifi. A factory reset solved the problem for me but I see you've already tried that.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
18th July 2012, 01:01 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
The password you entered is correct and the Fritzbox isn't using any MAC filter i assume?
18th July 2012, 01:12 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
Connect your phone to the computer and open adb shell
Kill any process named wpa_supplicant and type:

Code:
wpa_supplicant -dd -i wlan0 -f /sdcard/wifi.log -c /etc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf
Then attach the generated logfile after having tried connecting to a wifi network.

Alternatively you can run "wpa_cli" and show it's output.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
18th July 2012, 04:57 PM |#10  
valerio.tosti's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bissen
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
No i tried everything now but still not working! So i explain my router is down stairs, i am on the second floor! He sees my network but can't connect saying authentication error! When i go near the router about 3-4meters it connects to my network and i can access the net without problems! Now i am at my friends home and my galaxy s3 connects near the router but when i go in an other room it remains connected to the wifi but no internet connection an after a while he disconnects automatically!

I suppose if it where an hardware problem it wouldn't find the network at all or am i wrong with that?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes