Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Firmware Upgrade Error

OP rmurray1975

30th June 2014, 02:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Sorry if this is answered on another thread; I couldn't find any answer that helped me, so I am opening this thread.

My Galaxy S3 I9300 is stuck with the error: "Firmware Upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again."

But when I try to upgrade using Kies I get the error message "This device's version cannot be updated." I get as far as entering my model number and S/N.

I cannot enter recovery mode on my S3, only download mode, so I am unable to perform a hard reset.

My phone is not compatible with Kies3 so I am using Kies.

Any suggestions?
30th June 2014, 02:15 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
make sure your phone is not rooted,otherwise kies becomes unvailable.
30th June 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #3  
verny94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kladno
Thanks Meter: 73
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Flash stock ROM via Odin Download at http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to verny94 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
How can I tell?
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecore

make sure your phone is not rooted,otherwise kies becomes unvailable.

How can I tell if the phone is rooted? I got the phone second hand last week, and I don't know if it had previously been rooted.

In download mode, I see the following:

ODIN MODE
PRODUCT NAME: GT-I9300
CUSTOM BINARY DOWNLOAD: No
CURRENT BINARY: Samsung Official
SYSTEM STATUS: Official

I am guessing this means it hasn't been rooted?
30th June 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #5  
nikctsh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmurray1975

How can I tell if the phone is rooted? I got the phone second hand last week, and I don't know if it had previously been rooted.

In download mode, I see the following:

ODIN MODE
PRODUCT NAME: GT-I9300
CUSTOM BINARY DOWNLOAD: No
CURRENT BINARY: Samsung Official
SYSTEM STATUS: Official

I am guessing this means it hasn't been rooted?

Download root checker from google play
30th June 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Unhappy On what?
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikctsh

Download root checker from google play

This may seem a stupid question but on what am I supposed to download Root Checker? I cannot access my S3 (the reason for this thread).
30th June 2014, 03:22 PM   |  #7  
nikctsh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmurray1975

This may seem a stupid question but on what am I supposed to download Root Checker? I cannot access my S3 (the reason for this thread).

So why don't you provide us more details on why your phone stuck with that error message so that we can help you. You say you just got the phone second hand last week, so apparently the phone still works when you first get your hand on it. You must have done something to it, causing it to stuck with that error?
30th June 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
This is how I got it
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikctsh

So why don't you provide us more details on why your phone stuck with that error message so that we can help you. You say you just got the phone second hand last week, so apparently the phone still works when you first get your hand on it. You must have done something to it, causing it to stuck with that error?

This is the state I got the phone in. I had taken a quick check on the internet to see how to resolve the issue, and thought it would be worth the cost of the phone (40 Euros) to try to fix it myself. Guess I was wrong!
30th June 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #9  
nikctsh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmurray1975

This is the state I got the phone in. I had taken a quick check on the internet to see how to resolve the issue, and thought it would be worth the cost of the phone (40 Euros) to try to fix it myself. Guess I was wrong!

I'm not sure whether this can help, but try mate.
1) Enter download mode and install stock rom using ODIN (preferred)
If this doesn't do the trick, try another EXPERIMENTAL alternative way,
2) Enter download mode, root your device using CF root using ODIN, flash a custom recovery using ODIN, boot into your custom recovery, flash a custom rom (risky)

I never encountered this before so I have no idea whether this can actually help or not, so do this at your own risk.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikctsh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
You are a star!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikctsh

I'm not sure whether this can help, but try mate.
1) Enter download mode and install stock rom using ODIN (preferred)
If this doesn't do the trick, try another EXPERIMENTAL alternative way,
2) Enter download mode, root your device using CF root using ODIN, flash a custom recovery using ODIN, boot into your custom recovery, flash a custom rom (risky)

I never encountered this before so I have no idea whether this can actually help or not, so do this at your own risk.

You are my new hero!!!

I flashed the stock rom in Odin 3.09 and it worked a treat! I have a working telephone!

Thank you very much!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes