Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,628 Members 38,910 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

"SD Card Unexpectedly Removed" hardware issue solved

Tip us?
 
twistedskater68
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2012
Smile "SD Card Unexpectedly Removed" hardware issue solved

Hey all,
I thought I would share my findings to help others with the same issue.
Two days ago I kept catching glimpses of a card image in the notifications at the top of the screen, but it would only be for a second so I could not see what it was trying to tell me. But had a quick look and sd card seemed fine and all data was present on handset. A couple of hours later it popped up with "SD Card Unexpectedly Removed". I tried ejecting and reinserting,restarting device and turning off and removing battery all to no avail. So I did a quick search which showed this seemed to be quite a common issue, after reading many threads with people saying the sd card is corrupt or network providers saying it was software and to do a restore. I decided before all that hassle I would open the phone and check the circuitboard expecting it to be a dry solder joint. One thing I will point out that was different to some other users is the fact my sd card was not visible with the phone connected to the computer, so this may not solve all related issues.

THE FIX
Turn off phone, remove the battery, SIM card and sd card. Remove all screws except the one by the 3.5mm jack. Gently pull the white plastic trim that surrounds the card holders and battery but the top part with speaker and camera does not need removing. Once removed if you look to the left of the sd card holder you will see the ribbon that connects the sd card to the main circuit board and at the end of the ribbon is the connector. Mine was disconnected and was loose, even if yours is not loose it would be worth gently pulling it off and reconnecting it. Then reassemble in the reverse order.
This was a nice surprise in the sense it was a very simple fix. However when I mounted the sd card even directly in my pc it was not found, I assume that the loose connector floating about had probably shorted its connections and caused an issue with the sd card. After a handfuls of attempts at mounting it in my pc it was finally detected and I backed up all the data and reformatted the sd card, then copied the data back,mounted it in my phone and was happy to find it all working as expected.

I hope this information will help some of you out, as it was a simple fix to a simple issue and results from searching had no solutions, just lots of assumptions.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to twistedskater68 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
arcaneck
Old
#2  
arcaneck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: puebla
Default And what can I do

Hi
I read your articles and seem very good but u have a question.

I had the same issue and I saw that every time my phone said I hat message it creates in my sd card a folder named lost. I and then i saw that one part of my battery was going there, ti reconnect the phone with my sd card
I formatted my sd card and did all the things that I found in the Internetbut nnothing works and I just change my sd for another one I had and sincethere u ddon't have any other issue, but my computer detects very good my first sd card and I'm not sure how to fix it.

Any idea?

Regards
 
Kasmott
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 45
Join Date: Sep 2012
Recently ive just faced this issue, what I did is to insert my 32gb sd card in my PC and run CHKDISK, havent got any error while performing this, thereafter i inserted it in my phone & goodness till now this sd card error hasn't appear yet. (finger crossed).
 
sak500
Old
#4  
sak500's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 880
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dubai
Mine did something like this a few times and then the 32GB Sandisk class 10 card died. Couldn't get it to work in any device except Linux based Media player. Luckily managed to copy my nadroid backup and TB backup. Sent to Sandisk and they replaced it. There is already a thread about S3 damaging teh SD cards. May be the loose connection is what's causing the card to to end up dead.
Phone = S4 i9500 16GB (Octa Core)
ROM = Various
Kernel = Various
SD = 64GB Sandisk class 10
The Following User Says Thank You to sak500 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
twistedskater68
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sak500 View Post
Mine did something like this a few times and then the 32GB Sandisk class 10 card died. Couldn't get it to work in any device except Linux based Media player. Luckily managed to copy my nadroid backup and TB backup. Sent to Sandisk and they replaced it. There is already a thread about S3 damaging teh SD cards. May be the loose connection is what's causing the card to to end up dead.
Yeah,as mentioned I have seen a lot of issues about sd cards, this is the first issue I have had and thought it would be worth mentioning. There is little space when the case is together so it could easily still make contact and seem fine even if the connector has worked loose and cause all kinds of issues. As mentioned mine had the sd icon popping up every now and then before it actually failed. Some users seem to be going through a lot of sd cards with them failing on a regular bassis.
 
Meemo23
Old
(Last edited by Meemo23; 9th December 2012 at 02:18 AM.)
#6  
Meemo23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 566
Posts: 1,069
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Under my bed...

 
DONATE TO ME
I've been using my 32gb card since my last phone which was the LG Optimus 3D it is a scandisk class 10 one. Anyway i took it out of the 3D and stuck it into my S3 i still have not had a problem. I did take it out a few times to put a rom in because i wiped my phone and didn't have a rom in the Sd card. Also i dropped my phone and replaced the whole front silver bumper bit the whole digitizer because i dropped my phone while playing basketball. It still works. It has been a year now it has been in two phones and still works great. I must be lucky..

I got mugged for the SD though i bought it last year for 60 from Argos a store in the UK. Now you can get them for half the price oh well.. I am waiting for the 128gb ones to come out so going to buy one lol..
 
m4ssnet
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 252
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tuscany
today also my Sandisk Ultra HC I 32GB it's died, tomorrow I'll test with pc but no sign of life WTF samsung !!!
 
arcaneck
Old
#8  
arcaneck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: puebla
hey i have the same issue with an 32gb sd card, it was workking great and then i was getting the error about
"SD Card Unexpectedly Removed" and then i tried everything i could and my computer detect the sd card and it seems to be working normal but in my phone i have the error over and over again and it was draining my battery too, and the only thing i did was change to another 16gb sd card and this one is working.

maybe there is a problem with the 32gb sd cards
 
cr0wnest
Old
#9  
cr0wnest's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 719
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Singapore
I have a 16GB Sandisk UHS-1 card and i have been getting this issue as well, and its becoming more and more frequent. Whenver it happens, the ringtones/notifications for certain apps like Gmail and Message get reset as the ringtones i set were stored in the sdcard. Also the photo frame app i have on my homescreen often resets to nothing as the pictures were also stored in the sdcard. Its really annoying because I can leave my phone sleeping, only to wake it up realizing my ringtones are all set to silent and my photo frame has been reset. At least i know its a common problem. damn you samsung!
 
twistedskater68
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2012
Has anyone actually tried checking the connection on the ribbon as suggested? Mine has been fine since and works fine.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes