Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,845 Members 50,542 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[A] How to identify a fake Samsung battery

Tip us?

Guru1000
Old
(Last edited by Guru1000; 10th January 2013 at 05:52 PM.)
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Default [A] How to identify a fake Samsung battery

As a lot of people I don't want to run out of juice and ordered a couple of "Genuine Samsung" batteries on ebay (one for myself and one for a friend). Paid 6.50 pounds each that is approximately 10 dollar. I received the items accordingly and unpacked them. As a technician I checked them intensively on al sides also in comparison with my original battery. Off course, I knew this sounded to good to be true, but the sellers feedback was good and no feedback reported fake goods.

First thing I noticed was that the serial number on both batteries was the same, this can never be the case with a serial number
Second thing is that the contact are lying deeper in the battery housing than the original one
Third thing is a small placard next to the contact points to cover two small holes of the assembly.

Than I started searching on the internet and found the following text which I qoute:

[/qoute]
We particularly focus on the Battery to discuss, because it is difficult to identify real and fake battery. looking from the appearance of many fake Samsung batteries, it almost can not distinguish the fake from the real, however , the fake will not become the real, teach you a few methods of identification, real and fake battery will be crystal-clear to present in your eyes .
Method 1: Check the new battery whether there is a film on the back
when you buy assembled battery, there is a normal film affixed to the back, however the original battery did not have. it is the easiest way of identification.
Method 2: Check the battery positive labels work