FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

[Q] How to Root Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-19300

Thanks Meter: 0

By Eliminate007, Member on 14th August 2014, 07:22 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Android 4.3

I'm a noob at this and it is my first time. As the title says how to root a s3? So if any of you's know how to root it and/or know how to get ODIN please let me know?

Please Try to answer me questions below:
---Any Threads or something that's trusted to work while rooting.
---Whats the difference between Nandroid and backing up something on CWM?
---Can i backup my stock rom?
---How to Flash roms?
Last edited by Eliminate007; 14th August 2014 at 07:27 AM. Reason: More information on what i want to know.

14th August 2014, 12:48 PM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 12

More
Go to this thread and read very carefully..make sure to download the correct files. You can download Odin here too:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1957273

1. A nandroid backup(of your whole ROM(system and user data) is done through a custom recovery such as CWM, TWRP, Philz Touch Recovery
2. Yes you can backup your stock ROM but you have to be rooted and need a custom recovery like the ones mentioned above to do the nandroid backup. Here's philz touch recovery: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2002953
Again follow the instructions closely. Ask questions if needed.
3. Custom Roms can be downloaded here on xda and flashed/installed through your custom recovery