Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] i9300 faulty wifi?

OP El_Froz

11th June 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Hi everybody!

My brother has a problem with wifi signal on his s3. He only gets good signal standing at less than a meter from his home router (the same happens with his work router). If he goes away, say, 5 meters, he totally loses the signal. We compared his phone with my s3 and his wife's s3, and we both get full signal where he gets none at all

His phone had samsung stock 4.3 unrooted rom. We tried, without improvements:

1 - Factory reset
2 - Root and changed kernel (yank555)
3 - Full wipe (with TWRP) and installed 4.3 samsung stock rom again through odin (and then root)

Don't know if I'm missing something, or if it might really be a hardware problem. What do you think guys?

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by El_Froz; 11th June 2014 at 01:39 AM.
11th June 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #2  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 749
 
3,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Sounds like hardware.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to boomboomer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 02:00 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Coimbra
Thanks Meter: 162
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Froz

Hi everybody!

My brother has a problem with wifi signal on his s3. He only gets good signal standing at less than a meter from his home router (the same happens with his work router). If he goes away, say, 5 meters, he totally loses the signal. We compared his phone with my s3 and his wife's s3, and we both get full signal where he gets none at all

His phone had samsung stock 4.3 unrooted rom. We tried, without improvements:

1 - Factory reset
2 - Root and changed kernel (yank555)
3 - Full wipe (with TWRP) and installed 4.3 samsung stock rom again through odin (and then root)

Don't know if I'm missing something, or if it might really be a hardware problem. What do you think guys?

Thanks in advance!

You should restore the flash count, put it stock again and send to the warranty. Maybe he needs a new wifi module

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to eskorpiao112 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 05:58 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Thanks guys!

Tomorrow he will take it to customer service... so, i'll keep you posted!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
weak wifi signal
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes