Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I9300XXELLA downgrade and other questions

OP Vinceee

18th February 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hi everyone,

Before I flash a custom rom, I would like to know the answer to some questions I have.
This is the situation: I have an international galaxy s3, I9300XXELLA, with stock rom and android 4.1.2 and I'm interested in flashing the latest cyanogenmod 11 milestone.

I would make a nandroid backup first, so will I be able to just flash my nandroid of version 4.1.2 and downgrade from android version 4.4.2 to 4.1.2?
Also, if I make a nandroid of cyanogenmod 11, will I be able to just switch between the two roms like it's nothing?

Sorry if my questions are noob, but I've tried to downgrade before and I got stuck in a bootloop, I don't want to get this problem again..
And yes, I've searched google.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
18th February 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #2  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 190
 
1,095 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:

Hi everyone,

Before I flash a custom rom, I would like to know the answer to some questions I have.
This is the situation: I have an international galaxy s3, I9300XXELLA, with stock rom and android 4.1.2 and I'm interested in flashing the latest cyanogenmod 11 milestone.

I would make a nandroid backup first, so will I be able to just flash my nandroid of version 4.1.2 and downgrade from android version 4.4.2 to 4.1.2?
Also, if I make a nandroid of cyanogenmod 11, will I be able to just switch between the two roms like it's nothing?

Sorry if my questions are noob, but I've tried to downgrade before and I got stuck in a bootloop, I don't want to get this problem again..
And yes, I've searched google.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

U cant switch like its nth. Whenever u go from cm11 to stock 4.1.2, u have to restore ur efs v1. Wat modem are u using atm?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
18th February 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyYogurt

U cant switch like its nth. Whenever u go from cm11 to stock 4.1.2, u have to restore ur efs v1. Wat modem are u using atm?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app

I'm sorry isn't my modem the XXELLA I already gave?
And how do I restore my efs v1 then, and what is it?

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to Vinceee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #4  
thadoukuki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th February 2014, 05:03 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,428
 
23,044 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
The above post is absolutely wrong. Custom ROMS including CM never include a modem in the RO

Wrong wrong wrong custom roms may and indeed do include a modem or even a choice of modems . Fairly obvious from reading rom descriptions .Modem: BUUGMJ3 Modem: XXUGMK6
Modem:
- XXEMG4
- BUUGMJ3
- XXUGMJ9
- XXUGMK6
- DDUGMK1
Last edited by JJEgan; 18th February 2014 at 05:06 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to JJEgan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #6  
tallman43's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Land of Android
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinceee

I'm sorry isn't my modem the XXELLA I already gave?
And how do I restore my efs v1 then, and what is it?

Thanks

Also do not flash any roms untill you know what efs is and how to back it up! not doing so may lead to a unusable phone read this >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2393289 << and post any questions regarding efs in the thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to tallman43 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #7  
thadoukuki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJEgan

The above post is absolutely wrong. Custom ROMS including CM never include a modem in the RO

Wrong wrong wrong custom roms may and indeed do include a modem or even a choice of modems . Fairly obvious from reading rom descriptions .Modem: BUUGMJ3 Modem: XXUGMK6
Modem:
- XXEMG4
- BUUGMJ3
- XXUGMJ9
- XXUGMK6
- DDUGMK1

Extract CM ROM zip and see for yourself if it includes a modem or not.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
19th February 2014, 12:10 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallman43

Also do not flash any roms untill you know what efs is and how to back it up! not doing so may lead to a unusable phone read this >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2393289 << and post any questions regarding efs in the thread.

Okay I've read the topic about efs and IMEI, but I'm not sure if I understand everything correctly
Please correct me if I'm wrong and feel free to give extra information, this is what I think I understand:
  • Once I flash a rom that was made after the efs format change, I can't go back to a previous version of my modem on that rom.
    If I make an efs backup with CWM, I CAN restore it only if I go back to my stock android 4.1.2 (?)

But do I need to restore my efs backup on my new rom? I thought that wasn't necessary..

And another thing, I already succesfully installed a PA version AFTER the format change (I think android 4.3), and was able to go back to stock 4.1.2.. Got a bootloop but was able to fix that in recovery. The stock rom still works, never had problems with the modem what so ever, the only thing I did was restore my nandroid backup of 4.1.2, fixed the bootloop in recovery, and got a working, factory resetted 4.1.2...


So if I flash CM11, will I be able to go back to stock if I use a nandroid (and efs) backup?
Can someone give me a step by step tutorial please? (I just want to know what I have to do)
19th February 2014, 12:24 AM   |  #9  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 190
 
1,095 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinceee

I'm sorry isn't my modem the XXELLA I already gave?
And how do I restore my efs v1 then, and what is it?

Thanks

No. Modems have a number at the last. Like MG4. Etc

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
19th February 2014, 12:50 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyYogurt

No. Modems have a number at the last. Like MG4. Etc

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Then please let me know where to find it, because I can't seem to find a code that ends in a number at 'about phone'

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes