Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

[Q] Issues with 4.3 on S3

OP viper35ninr

12th January 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hi there,

I have a rooted International version of S3. I recently saw that sammobiles posted the 4.3 version update for S3. So I went ahead and dowloaded the same. I installed the updates using odin Iniitially everything seemed fine. But on closer look I noticed that several options were either missing or greyed out. For eg: The option to add widgets to my home screen is greyed out.
Also when I go to about device tab I can see that the Android version which mentions 4.3 is greyed out.

Could you please help me enable these. Because I am pretty sure I downloaded the right version and installed the updates correctly too.

Thanks in advance !!
12th January 2014, 08:29 AM   |  #2  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 709
 
3,204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Download the full stock rom, not just an update. Check the md5 of your download. Do a full wipe, including format internal sd card then reflash. Factory reset from recovery, before first boot, then test before you install/restore any apps or mods.
12th January 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer

Download the full stock rom, not just an update. Check the md5 of your download. Do a full wipe, including format internal sd card then reflash. Factory reset from recovery, before first boot, then test before you install/restore any apps or mods.

Hey boomboomer,

I think I downloaded the entire stock rom as the md5 was like 1.5 gigs. Also could you let me know how to do a factory reset before moving forward?
12th January 2014, 08:44 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper35ninr

Hey boomboomer,

I think I downloaded the entire stock rom as the md5 was like 1.5 gigs. Also could you let me know how to do a factory reset before moving forward?

OK, let me narrow down my issue. My main issue is that the " Lock Screen Widget " option that we see under "My Device" is greyed out. How can I activate that. Please help as this is one of the major attractions that made me update my android version.
12th January 2014, 11:07 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper35ninr

OK, let me narrow down my issue. My main issue is that the " Lock Screen Widget " option that we see under "My Device" is greyed out. How can I activate that. Please help as this is one of the major attractions that made me update my android version.

Hey I found it. It seems in order to add multiple widgets to the lock screen you need to have your home screen on standard mode rather than on dynamic mode.
13th January 2014, 12:57 AM   |  #6  
rivhudson's Avatar
Member
Flag Yogyakarta
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
wipe data..its work dude.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes