Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,230 Members 48,242 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

My MAC address is different. Did I get hacked?

Tip us?
 
incognitonk
Old
(Last edited by incognitonk; 15th January 2014 at 03:09 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 138
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default My MAC address is different. Did I get hacked?

I just realised right now that my MAC address is different from what it was before.

Previously it was 38:AA:3C:XX:XX:XX.
and now it is 00:12:34: D3:B2:68

I havent done any serious modifications to my phone in a while.
I've been on the same CM 10.2 with googy maxx kernel for over a month now.
The only root app I installed recently is the "Paragon NTFS&HFS+" from the play store.

Did I get hacked?
How do I change it back to the original one?
 
incognitonk
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 138
Join Date: Aug 2011
bump
 
incognitonk
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 138
Join Date: Aug 2011
bump
 
alex.sg
Old
(Last edited by alex.sg; 15th January 2014 at 09:44 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bucharest
You did not get hacked. Theoretically, the MAC Address is a unique and hardware-stored value (firmware, ROM), so it cannot be changed. However, there are tools that can spoof it, such as MACMan. Your MAC address is just probably spoofed by some built-in feature/software.

Edit:

I did a little bit of research and it looks like it's your kernel's fault. I found this in its changelog:

Code:
13/09] Version 1.7.2 : 
- CM10.2 : Fixed keys backlight disabling
- CM10.2 : Fix network "arrows" not showing correctly
- bcmdhd : Disable multicast on sleep & allow mac adress changing
- Ramfs : Fixed booting problem on some sammy roms as 2ndrom
- Stweaks : Raised pegasusq hotplug max values
It probably modified the MAC address "on its own" (as in a built-in feature) or it was modified by another application.
As about reverting to your original MAC address, try flashing another kernel/ROM (the stock one, for example).
The Following User Says Thank You to alex.sg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes