FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

[Q] s3 to a DC of 240v

187 posts
Thanks Meter: 16
 
By ankahuja, Senior Member on 21st April 2013, 02:01 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
actually it will sound stupid,but I still want a solution
I just plugged my SIII to a direct plug(240v)
A white light appeared in the wire....not in the phone, I just switched off the supply after 0.5-1 seconds ....but the phone is not booting...tried changing the battery but still it is not starting .....IS IT GONE?

citiation needed from hardware experts
 
 
21st April 2013, 02:43 AM |#2  
Juhan Jufri's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 424
 
More
Why is there a (Q) in the start of your thread when this is the GENERAL SECTION and not the Q&A SECTION. Please move this to the q&a section or post there next time.
21st April 2013, 02:57 AM |#3  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,406
 
More
You most likely fried it.

Wayne Tech S-III
21st April 2013, 04:56 AM |#4  
ankahuja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juhan Jufri

Why is there a (Q) in the start of your thread when this is the GENERAL SECTION and not the Q&A SECTION. Please move this to the q&a section or post there next time.

Next time.....
21st April 2013, 04:58 AM |#5  
ankahuja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

You most likely fried it.

Wayne Tech S-III

Well then I can still use it...yyiipeee....now I can eat it ROFL
21st April 2013, 07:39 AM |#6  
johnk1973's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
It's gone, 100%, nothing will get that back.

So what made you think you could go from 5v dc to 240 ac? The fact it's ac means you could have had a peak of nearly 300v. 240 is just the RMS value (or average voltage over the 50hz cycle)
21st April 2013, 08:12 AM |#7  
DjeMBeY's Avatar
Senior Member
London, UK
Thanks Meter: 6,505
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ankahuja

actually it will sound stupid,but I still want a solution
I just plugged my SIII to a direct plug(240v)
A white light appeared in the wire....not in the phone, I just switched off the supply after 0.5-1 seconds ....but the phone is not booting...tried changing the battery but still it is not starting .....IS IT GONE?

citiation needed from hardware experts

Wait, WHAT??? HOW???? WHY????
I'm electrician and you've made me speechless......
LMAO!!!!
R.I.P
The Following User Says Thank You to DjeMBeY For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2014, 05:48 AM |#8  
ankahuja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjeMBeY

Wait, WHAT??? HOW???? WHY????
I'm electrician and you've made me speechless......
LMAO!!!!
R.I.P

REALLY CAN'T EXPLAIN
if ill tell you u'll laugh at me like HELLLLL !!!!!!!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
blast, galaxy, phone, samsung, siii
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes