Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,794 Members 44,697 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ODIN failed to read my ID:COM during Download mode

Tip us?
 
qhalidx
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [Q] ODIN failed to read my ID:COM during Download mode

I'm familiar with the CF-Autoroot as i've done it on countless time on my phone and some on my friends. The thing is an OTA update has remove my root access which means i have root my device again. My problem is when i plugged my phone which is on download mode to odin, the ID:COM unreadable on odin but on normal boot mode odin can read my ID:COM (you can refer on the picture i added).

Tried on 2 machine,3 different usb cables, re-installed everything and check all the setting in developer option on phone and i still can't root my phone. Can anyone offer a suggestion in what to do if i wan't to root my phone?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	download mode.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	145.7 KB
ID:	2770513   Click image for larger version

Name:	normal Boot.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	146.0 KB
ID:	2770514  
 
husokal
Old
(Last edited by husokal; 30th May 2014 at 09:07 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 108
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: istanbul
I assume your bootloader is already changed. So I advice you to clean flash from kies as LAST step.

Before that you can try Wipe, different USB cable just in case. Or different method of root if there is. And of course a clean flash with mobile odin pro

To make download mode work again..

One more advice: install this driver goo.gl/jpjTtS
And use odin 3.09 check download mode
The Following User Says Thank You to husokal For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
boomboomer
Old
#3  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 683
Posts: 3,047
Join Date: Jun 2010
Or just downgrade your bootloader to previous version.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

The Following User Says Thank You to boomboomer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
miskos12
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
I advise you to wipe factory data reset your phone, try to install the necessary usb driver for your phone and the latest odin
 
qhalidx
Old
(Last edited by qhalidx; 31st May 2014 at 09:03 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by husokal View Post
I assume your bootloader is already changed. So I advice you to clean flash from kies as LAST step.

Before that you can try Wipe, different USB cable just in case. Or different method of root if there is. And of course a clean flash with mobile odin pro

To make download mode work again..

One more advice: install this driver goo.gl/jpjTtS
And use odin 3.09 check download mode
Many thanks for the suggestion but i quite worry about wiping my os. All i know about rooting is the cf auto-root and framaroot. Both didn't work and i tried different usb cables and two laptops just to be sure. I'll consider about wiping back from kies.





Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer View Post
Or just downgrade your bootloader to previous version.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Which still mean i should downgrade my os from kies, still i prefer as the last option.

Question guys, do downgrading from kies pose any risk of bricking my phone?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
 
husokal
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 108
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: istanbul
Is it even possible to downgrade with kies?
 
qhalidx
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by husokal View Post
Is it even possible to downgrade with kies?
I'm going to read some more on this and if its safe then maybe i'll give it go.

Sent from my GT-I9300

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes