Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,728 Members 43,985 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone not booting (Is it soft brick?)

Tip us?
 
bablooroyal
Old
(Last edited by bablooroyal; 1st March 2014 at 11:10 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Phone not booting (Is it soft brick?)

Hei,

I was running 4.3.1 Dirty Unicorns and wanted to flash Smartdroid.
So, flashed Devil recovery and tried to flash the ROM.
It gave me message that there's an error in the zip file.
I was just playing with the options available in the recovery and selected some option, which I don't remember now.
After that, the went into bootloop. "Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300" appears on the screen and the phone reboots again and again.
This loop continued.
The phone could be put in Download mode.
Then, I flashed CWM 6.0.4.4 and flashed 4.1.2, which I downloaded some time back.
It went on well. I could boot the phone and had set it up.
However, I couldn't connect to network.
The IMEI was some default one.
Rooted the phone and tried to restore the backup of efs folder using HC-Ktool.
After restore, when I booted the phone, it didn't boot.
"Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300" appears on the screen and the phone reboots again and again.
I tried flashing the ROM again, CWM again etc etc.
Nothing worked.
In one occasion, after installing CWM 6.0.4.4, I restored from NANDROID backup. Restore was successful.
But, it wouldn't boot.
Same "Samsung Galaxy S3" appears on the screen and the phone reboots again and again.
Once, I flashed Dirty Unicorns ROM from zip via CWM. Still the same.

What is happening and how to solve it?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Babloo
 
JustArchi
Old
#2  
JustArchi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 21,865
Posts: 6,702
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Warsaw

 
DONATE TO ME
Wipe Data/Factory Reset -> Download mode
Flash latest Android 4.3 from Sammy through Odin, preferably XXUGMK6 or newer.

Twitter

Galaxy S3: ArchiDroid 2.X | ArchiDroid 1.X | ArchiKernel | ArchiPort
Xperia M: ArchiDroid 2.X
Other: ArchiKitchen


Have a question? Use Q&A. My inbox is restricted to development only.
The Following User Says Thank You to JustArchi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bablooroyal
Old
(Last edited by bablooroyal; 2nd March 2014 at 04:54 AM.) Reason: Added point about NANDROID backup
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hei,

This worked!!!
Thanks.
Why flashing 4.1.2, Dirty Unicorns didn't work and this one worked?
If you can explain, that will be helpful to all.

Now, though the phone is booting, the efs folder is corrupted.
IMEI number is not what it should be.
I have a backup of the efs folder taken using HC-Ktool long back.
So, the ROM on which efs folder was backedup will be different that the ROM I have now. (Does it make any difference?)
Can I just root and restore that efs folder using HC-Ktool?

Thanks for the help!!

Regards,
Babloo

Edit:

If I flash CWM Recovery 6.0.4.4 and restore the NANDROID backup that I took before I started screwing my mobile, will everything be fine?
 
boomboomer
Old
#4  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 683
Posts: 3,047
Join Date: Jun 2010
Sounds like you tried to flash a corrupt file, always check the md5 before you flash.

EFS is totally separate to the rom, format the partition, restore your backup then factory reset should return your imei on the current rom.

Nandroid will not fix the efs, unless you used a custom backup process that included the partition -the default settings would not do this.
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
bablooroyal
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hei,

"format the partition, restore your backup"
For this, can I just root the phone and use Ktool to restore backup?
If you suggest any other procedure, pls give me more info.


-Babloo
 
bablooroyal
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hei,

After the previous post, I could restore my phone from NANDROID backup that I took yesterday, before the whole mess.

After that, I tried to restore the efs folder using HC-Ktool from efs.img.
It gives the message that restore is completed.
But, after reboot, the IMEI remains the same wrong one (the generic 004999...)
The size of efs.img is 20.48 MB.

I tried to restore using the terminal method.
With the command "unmount /efs" I get error message "sh: unmount: not found"

How can I restore the efs and get back my IMEI?

When I tried to "open" the img file in Windows, it couldn't open. It says that the file is corrupted.
Could it have been really corrupted or it is just that Windows is unable to open it?

I restored the efs using the same backup file.
Why is it not working now?

-Babloo
 
boomboomer
Old
#7  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 683
Posts: 3,047
Join Date: Jun 2010
You are trying to skip essential stages and hurry to finish, but your partition is still corrupt -you can't restore anything to a corrupt partition.

Search and read someone who has succeeded doing the same thing, follow their guide exactly.
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
bablooroyal
Old
(Last edited by bablooroyal; 3rd March 2014 at 01:51 AM.)
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hei,

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer View Post
You are trying to skip essential stages and hurry to finish, but your partition is still corrupt -you can't restore anything to a corrupt partition.

Search and read someone who has succeeded doing the same thing, follow their guide exactly.
I have been searching for a proper procedure to format the efs partition since your post.
Whatever I found didn't work for me.
Can you please point me to any post that you know?

-Babloo
 
bablooroyal
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2013
Guys,

Any ideas?

-Babloo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes