5,600,429 Members 32,916 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] my phone was unrooted

Tip us?
 
fareed1234
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] my phone was unrooted

I rooted my phone a while back and installed CWM recovery. I flashed several Roms successfuly. However when I installed my new ROM( currently omnirom) the supersu app is no longer there. I wanted to try titanium backup but when I installed it, it says I don't have root access. I redownloaded the supersu app and the install keeps failing. So I have a few questions.
1. How did I lose root access to my phone?
2. Can I install custom Roms without root access?
3. What steps should I take to regain root access?

BTW my phone model is galaxy s3 i9300 model.
 
badaeng
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jul 2011
If you still have access to the recovery you can probably just reflash your ROM and gapps, clean cache and dalvik cage and should be up and running again.
 
fareed1234
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by badaeng View Post
If you still have access to the recovery you can probably just reflash your ROM and gapps, clean cache and dalvik cage and should be up and running again.
I still have access to CWM but my problem is how to get titanium backup to recognize my phone as having root access.
 
badaeng
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jul 2011
I got that. If you reflash your ROM and gapps with just deleting cache and dalvik cache and *NOT* data, you won't lose any apps and probably regain root access. Make a backup from within the recovery though. I can't tell you why titanium doesn't make a root prompt appear but this way you will probably fix it

---------- Post added at 01:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:47 AM ----------

Also there is possibly an option under development settings where you can choose if apps are granted root privileges. You'll want to check that option.
 
fareed1234
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
These are screen shots of what i see when using supersu and titanium backup. I will try your suggestion of reflashing my rom and gapps and see if that helps with anything.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-20-41-42.png
Views:	15
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	2447000   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-20-41-57.png
Views:	12
Size:	88.7 KB
ID:	2447001   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-20-42-13.png
Views:	14
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	2447002   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-20-42-25.png
Views:	10
Size:	171.5 KB
ID:	2447003  
 
fareed1234
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by badaeng View Post
If you still have access to the recovery you can probably just reflash your ROM and gapps, clean cache and dalvik cage and should be up and running again.
I tried this suggestion and I still don't have root access. Have no idea what else I should do.
 
fareed1234
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Ok I got it to work by manually downloading supersu from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1538053

and flashing it from my recovery.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...