Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more

UX Design in Apps and ROMs w/ Kevin Bruckert – BABBQ2014

This year’s Big Android BBQ has come and gone. While the whole event was … more

Bring Material Design Goodness to Your App with Support Library

At Google I/O 2014, the next iteration of Android was announced and … more
Post Reply

[Q] Power Button - Boot Loop (?) Hardware or Software?

OP i360*

7th February 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #1  
i360*'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 295
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Hello,

I have a Galaxy S3 i9300 and I am running ArchiDroid V2.3.5 with Boeffla Kernel 2.2-beta1.

The problem I have with the phone is that it boot loops itself, although sometimes the phone does boot up and runs perfectly fine, but when I use my power button (on the right), it'll randomly turn off and reboot again. I have been using the "Sleep" option from the quick panel menu and not the power button.

I'm quite worried as I don't know if it is a hardware problem or just a problem with the ROM? I have tried wiping everything (sys, dalvik, cache, sd) and reinstalling a previous version of Archidroid but still no luck. If i press the power button for a second the boot menu comes up instantly (Reboot, Screenshot etc).

Also I am trying to install NeatROM (Sammy) to see if it works but in recovery I get this problem.
Code:
format() expects 5 args, got 4
E:Error in /data/media/0/i9300XXEMJ2_NeatROM_Lite_v4.8.zip
(Status 7)
Installation aborted
press any key to continue.
Thanks for the help in advance, I'm quite worried as this phone is nearly brand new!
7th February 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #2  
JustArchi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 23,468
 
6,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Your problem is due to outdated update-binary used by Neat ROM.

You can try ArchiDroid 1.X to see if it's rom or hardware problem. For me it seems like your power button is getting stuck. and this causes hard reset.
The Following User Says Thank You to JustArchi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #3  
i360*'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 295
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustArchi

Your problem is due to outdated update-binary used by Neat ROM.

You can try ArchiDroid 1.X to see if it's rom or hardware problem. For me it seems like your power button is getting stuck. and this causes hard reset.

Downloading Archi 1.X as I type. If it is my power button getting stuck, am I able to fix it myself?
7th February 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #4  
JustArchi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 23,468
 
6,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by i360*

Downloading Archi 1.X as I type. If it is my power button getting stuck, am I able to fix it myself?

Depends on your skills.
7th February 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #5  
i360*'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 295
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustArchi

Depends on your skills.

Erm amateur skills at the moment

I will try Archi 1.X to see how it goes. Thanks for the prompt response.
7th February 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #6  
i360*'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 295
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustArchi

You can try ArchiDroid 1.X to see if it's rom or hardware problem. For me it seems like your power button is getting stuck. and this causes hard reset.

Alright so this isn't a software problem as I'm having the same problem with this rom aswell

Any advice? I do not have warranty or insurance
7th February 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #7  
i360*'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 295
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
This may seem absurd but this worked, LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSLZFmhmBlc

I'm not sure if this is a temp fix or perm.
7th February 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #8  
JustArchi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 23,468
 
6,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by i360*

This may seem absurd but this worked, LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSLZFmhmBlc

I'm not sure if this is a temp fix or perm.

Told you that it's hardware problem .

The Following User Says Thank You to JustArchi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes