Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,027 Members 48,473 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[PROB] Distorted, robotic voices during calls

Tip us?

Thorm
Old
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Default [PROB] Distorted, robotic voices during calls

Hey.
I've got an issue that comes & goes with my SGSIII.

I use UltimaROM v16 and Boeffla 5.1 Kernel, and have tried reflashing with no luck.

I experience the distorted voice on calls periodically. Some calls just work perfectly, some just doesn't.
When it does occur, it's almost distorted to the point, where I can't hear what people say. The problem is consistent with or without headset.

Occassionally I start out a conversation with the distortion being really bad (the problem is only on my end). Then, after a few minutes of conversation, it disappears, and the quality is perfectly fine again.
Really strange.

I work as a journalist, which means frequent phone interviewing. Thus, I really depend on being able to hear what people say over the phone when working.

After searching for some answers on the board, I found some users recommending flashing a new modem/RIL.

Problem is: I don't know the first thing about which modem/RIL is right for my phone.

I ran GetRIL and it said "Baseband: I9300XXUGMK6" and "Unknown RIL"

So.. is this still a modem/RIL-thing?
If so, which one should I use, and which modems & RILs fit together?

Please help a new Samsung flash-o-holic out!
Thanks,

Thorm

I'm gonna do a cwm backup & flash a new ROM tonight, just for trial & error.
The ROM: XROM V1.0.3
My phones:
HTC Desire AMOLED (2010) - Sold
HTC Desire S-LCD (2011) - Dead
HTC One X (2012) - Returned after 4th repair
Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300 (2013) - Dead
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505 (2014) - Current

Android 4.4.2 Kitkat
Stock ROM

KSKHH
Old
Thanks Meter 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorm View Post
Hey.
I've got an issue that comes & goes with my SGSIII.